Administration and Institutions

Service Institutions

Service Institutions

Centre for Teacher Training

The Bamberg Centre for Teacher Training was established in order to coordinate teacher training at the University of Bamberg and to promote classroom teaching research. Maintaining and improving the general framework for successful completion of the degree within the standard time as well as generally and sustainably strengthening the University of Bamberg’s teacher training programme are at the core of the centre’s activities.

Training Centre for University Teaching

The Training Centre for University Teaching (FBZHL) at the University of Bamberg offers training courses for instructors at all Bavarian universities and other institutions of higher education. In addition to the standard seminar programme, it is also possible to arrange advanced courses dealing with topics like target group-specific workshops for individual subject fields or special courses geared towards professorial staff. The FBZHL works closely with similar training centres at the other Bavarian universities, and a particularly close cooperation exists between Bamberg and the universities of Bayreuth and Erlangen-Nuremberg.

Computing Centre

The university computing centre – one of the university’s central institutions – plans, procures and operates the university’s data and language communication infrastructure. With a personal user number, one may take advantage of the extensive software capabilities made available via PC-pool computers and access the university’s data network and internet connection. PC-pools are located in the "Hochzeitshaus", at "An der Universität 5" and in the Computing Centre building.

Athletics Centre

The University of Bamberg Athletics Centre works to ensure that athletics are and remain a significant part of the university. It is home to degree programmes in sport teaching, oversees the Diplom programme’s required electives in sport, offers popular courses in university-wide athletics and supplements regular course offerings with a variety of activities and events.

Language Centre

The language centre offers philological language courses, business language courses and general language courses designed for students from all faculties. Furthermore, all courses in German as a foreign language, preparatory courses for German language examinations required of foreign students for university admission and standardized Latin and Greek examinations fall under the responsibility of the language centre.

University Archives

The University of Bamberg’s archives serve, as it were, as the cultural and historical memory of the university and the institutions representing its historic precursors. According to the Bavarian Archive Act (BayArchivG), the archives are responsible for archiving – cataloguing, evaluating, acquiring, making available and storing and maintaining – all accumulated and, due to their importance, preservation-worthy materials.

University Library

The university library serves the literary and reference needs of researchers, students and instructors at the University of Bamberg. Additionally, library resources are also available to other users from the city of Bamberg and the broader community.

Einrichtungen und Organe

Service-Einrichtungen

Service-Einrichtungen

Bamberger Zentrum für Lehrerbildung (BAZL)

Das Bamberger Zentrum für Lehrerbildung (BAZL) wurde eingerichtet, um die Lehrerbildung an der Universität Bamberg zu koordinieren und die Unterrichtsforschung zu fördern. Im Zentrum dieser Tätigkeiten stehen dabei Erhalt und Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen für ein erfolgreiches Studium innerhalb der Regelzeit sowie ganz allgemein die Lehrerbildung an der Uni Bamberg nachhaltig zu stärken.

Zum Bamberger Zentrum für Lehrerbildung

Fortbildungszentrum Hochschullehre

Das Fortbildungszentrum Hochschullehre der Universität Bamberg (FBZHL) bietet hochschuldidaktische Weiterbildungen für Lehrende aller bayerischen Universitäten und Hochschulen. Neben einem offenen Seminarprogramm gibt es auch weitere Fortbildungsmöglichkeiten wie z. B. zielgruppenspezifische Workshops für einzelne Fächer oder spezielle Angebote für Professorinnen und Professoren. Das FBZHL arbeitet eng mit den anderen hochschuldidaktischen Einrichtungen der bayerischen Universitäten zusammen. Insbesondere mit den FBZHL der Universitäten Bayreuth und Erlangen-Nürnberg besteht eine enge Kooperation.

Zum Fortbildungszentrum Hochschullehre

Rechenzentrum

Das Universitätsrechenzentrum betreibt als IT-Dienstleister für Forschung und Lehre an der Universität Bamberg die Basis-Infrastruktur und stellt IT-Lösungen für die Studierenden und Beschäftigten bereit. Das RZ plant, beschafft und betreibt die Daten- und Sprach- Kommunikationsinfrastruktur der Universität. Mit eigener Nutzernummer darf man die PCs in den mit umfangreicher Software ausgestatteten PC-Pools, das Datennetz und den Internetzugang der Universität nutzen.

Zum Rechenzentrum

Sportzentrum

Das Sportzentrum der Universität sorgt dafür, dass Sport ein bedeutender Bestandteil der Universität ist und bleibt: Es ist die Heimat der sportdidaktischen Lehramtsstudiengänge, betreut das Wahlpflichtfach Sport der Diplomstudiengänge, bietet die rege genutzten Kurse des allgemeinen Hochschulsports an und ergänzt das reguläre Semesterangebot durch eine Vielzahl von Veranstaltungen.

Zum Sportzentrum

Sprachenzentrum

Das Sprachenzentrum bietet philologische Sprachkurse an, Kurse in Wirtschaftsfremdsprachen und allgemeinsprachliche Sprachkurse für Hörer aller Fakultäten. Ferner fallen die Kurse für Deutsch als Fremdsprache sowie zur Vorbereitung auf die Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang ausländischer Studierender, das Latinum und das Graecum in die Zuständigkeit des Sprachenzentrums.

Zum Sprachenzentrum

Universitätsarchiv

Das Archiv der Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg fungiert quasi als kulturelles und historisches Gedächtnis der Universität und deren Vorläufer-Einrichtungen. Es soll – so das Bayerische Archivgesetz (BayArchivG) – alle anfallenden Materialien, die wegen ihrer Bedeutung aufbewahrungswürdig sind, archivieren, also erfassen, bewerten, übernehmen, erschließen, verwahren und sichern. 

Zum Universitätsarchiv

Universitätsbibliothek

Die Universitätsbibliothek ist eine zentrale Einrichtung der Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg und umfasst deren gesamten Literatur- und Medienbestand. Sie hat die Aufgabe, die Literatur- und Informationsversorgung aller Mitglieder der Universität für Forschung, Lehre und Studium sicherzustellen. Darüber hinaus dient sie als öffentliche Bibliothek wissenschaftlichen Zwecken sowie der beruflichen Arbeit und der Aus- und Fortbildung.

Zur Universitätsbibliothek