Welcome to the Homepage of the Institute
of Archaeology, Heritage Sciences and Art History (IADK)

The Institute of Archaeology, Heritage Sciences and Art History (IADK) brings together eight fields of study concerned with material culture, historic monuments and works of art from prehistory to the present. Together they cover an extremely broad spectrum both chronologically and in terms of content and methodology, and thus offer ideal conditions for the development of interdisciplinary approaches to problems in cultural history and heritage conservation. The fields represented in the IADK explore topics in the humanities and cultural sciences through a focus on material artefacts, which are used to generate new insights into the lives and cultures of the past. At the same time, a prominent role is given to problem-oriented theoretical discourses in the artistic and cultural sciences.

A distinguishing feature of the Institute is the special emphasis placed on practice-oriented approaches in research and teaching. These are accompanied by a thorough grounding and training in academic theory and method. The marriage of theoretical knowledge with practical application stands at the centre of the Institute's commitment to interdisciplinary cooperation in both instruction and research. Hands-on work in various forms, including excursions, internships and exercises using original objects, is therefore an important element of the study programme in Bamberg.

The wide variety of activities undertaken by the fields represented in the IADK are also directed at stimulating transfer and exchange with external organizations and agencies. These include longstanding cooperative arrangements with museums and academic institutions in Germany and abroad, as well as regular participation in excavations, exhibitions and restoration projects.

The research efforts of students and scholars are supported by a pool of cutting-edge technical equipment, including a tachymeter, specialized microscopes and a complete Dendrochronological Laboratory

Fakultät Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaften

Institut für Archäologie, Denkmalkunde und Kunstgeschichte

Herzlich willkommen auf der Seite des Instituts
für Archäologie, Denkmalkunde und Kunstgeschichte (IADK)

Im Institut für Archäologie, Denkmalkunde und Kunstgeschichte (IADK) sind insgesamt acht Fächer vertreten, die sich in Forschung und Lehre der materiellen Kultur, Denkmälern und Kunstwerken von den vorgeschichtlichen Epochen bis zur Gegenwart widmen. Damit ist ein in chronologischer, inhaltlicher und methodischer Hinsicht ausgesprochen breites Spektrum abgedeckt, welches beste Voraussetzungen für eine interdisziplinäre Herangehensweise an kulturgeschichtliche und denkmalkundliche Themen bietet. Die im IADK vereinten Fächer untersuchen geistes- und kulturwissenschaftliche Zusammenhänge anhand der materiellen Kultur und vermitteln dadurch Einsicht in vergangene Lebenswelten. Hierbei nehmen auch problemorientierte Theoriediskurse in den Kunst- und Kulturwissenschaften breiten Raum ein.

Herausragendes Merkmal des Instituts ist der ausgeprägte Praxisbezug in Forschung und Lehre. Er flankiert die fundierte Entwicklung und Vermittlung wissenschaftlicher Methoden und Theorien. Die Verbindung von theoretischen Grundlagen und praktischer Anwendung steht auch im Zentrum der fächerübergreifenden Kooperation in Forschung und Lehre. Die praxisbezogene Projektarbeit, z. B. in Form von Übungen an Originalen, von Exkursionen und Praktika, stellt daher auch einen Schwerpunkt des Studiums in Bamberg dar.

Die vielfältigen Aktivitäten der Fächer am IADK sind zudem in hohem Maße auf den Transfer und Austausch mit externen Einrichtungen ausgerichtet. Hierzu gehören sowohl fest verankerte Kooperationen mit Museen und wissenschaftlichen Institutionen des In- und Auslands als auch die regelmäßige Beteiligung an Grabungs-, Ausstellungs- und Denkmalpflegeprojekten.

Für die Forschungen steht eine umfangreiche institutseigene Ausstattung auf neuestem technischem Stand zur Verfügung (z.B. Dendrolabor, Tachymeter, Spezialmikroskope).