Faculties

Human Sciences and Education

Human Sciences and Education: Faculty Profile

Comprehensive Expertise

The Human Sciences faculty is the third largest at the University of Bamberg.

It is home to the fields of Education, Psychology and other subjects within the framework of Teacher Training.

The Institute of Educational Science (information in Germany only) is dedicated to theory and empirical research in the fields of learning, teaching and socialization in different life stages, and also in scholastic and extracurricular fields. Some examples of these are school, youth services, family, child daycare, institutions of adult education and vocational further education. In all of these fields, educational processes spanning the entire course of life are themes of central importance.

The Institute of Psychology (information in German only) examines human experience, behaviour and action. Psychology at the University of Bamberg is run as an empirical and theoretical science. Therefore, aside from a foundational psychological curriculum (development, thought, motivation, the mind, social influence, personality, mental illness, various applications), focus is placed on research methods pertaining to conducting experiments, psychodiagnostics, systematic observation and statistics.

The Institute of Research and Development of Subject-Based Education (EE-feU) is dedicated primarily to providing students in teacher training programmes with academically-founded instruction in the major subjects of Art and Music and didactic principles of teaching Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics and Computer Science, Physics and Physical Education. Additionally, combination degree programmes (bachelor’s and master’s) are also offered.

Within the faculty, theoretical and empirical approaches are of equal, reciprocal importance. With the recent addition of empirical educational research, the faculty has gained yet another substantial mark of a distinguished academic profile. Here, the particular strength lies in interdisciplinarity. This means that students are afforded an exceptional variety in terms of curricula and degree programmes offered.

Fakultäten

Humanwissenschaften

Fakultät Humanwissenschaften

Kompetenz durch Vielfalt

Die Fakultät Humanwissenschaften ist die drittgrößte Fakultät der Universität.

Hier sind die Fächer Pädagogik und Psychologie sowie verschiedene der Lehramtsausbildung gewidmete Fächer angesiedelt.

Das Institut für Erziehungswissenschaft beschäftigt sich mit Theorien und empirischer Forschung in den Bereichen Lehren, Lernen und Sozialisation in verschiedenen Lebensaltern sowie in schulischen und außerschulischen Feldern. Hierzu gehören zum Beispiel Schule, Jugendarbeit, Familie, Kindertagesbetreuung, Institutionen der Erwachsenenbildung und beruflichen Weiterbildung. Dabei werden Bildungsprozesse im gesamten Lebenslauf thematisiert.

Das Institut für Psychologie erforscht das menschliche Erleben, Verhalten und Handeln. An der Universität Bamberg wird sie als empirische und theoretische Wissenschaft betrieben. Der Fokus liegt dabei, neben der Vermittlung der psychologischen Inhalte (Entwicklung, Denken, Motivation, Gehirn, soziale Einflüsse, Persönlichkeit, psychische Störungen, diverse Anwendungen) auf den Forschungsmethoden des Experiments, der Psychodiagnostik, der systematischen Beobachtung und der Statistik.

Das Institut für Erforschung und Entwicklung fachbezogenen Unterrichts(EE-feU) widmet sich primär der wissenschaftlich fundierten Ausbildung von Lehramtsstudierenden in den Fächern Evangelische Religionslehre, Kunst und Musik sowie den Didaktiken der Biologie, Chemie, Mathematik und Informatik, Physik und des Sports. Es werden zudem Angebote in Kombinationsstudiengängen (Bachelor-Master) gemacht.

Theoretische und empirische Zugänge sind in der Fakultät aufeinander bezogen. Mit der empirischen Bildungsforschung hat sie in jüngster Zeit ein zusätzliches gewichtiges Profilmerkmal bekommen. Die besondere Stärke ist dabei die Interdisziplinarität. Dies führt für die Studierenden zu einer außergewöhnlichen Vielfalt hinsichtlich der Studiengänge und Inhalte.