Governing bodies

The University Council

In accordance with Article 26 of the Bavarian Higher Education Act, the University of Bamberg has a governing council made up of the elected members of the Senate and eight persons from the fields of science and the humanities, and in particular business and professional practice. As per the statute of amendment to the University by-laws, this governing council is referred to by the name University Council. Members of the university’s governing bodies and the university women’s representative are non-voting participants in council meetings. The state ministry is also invited to these meetings. According to Section 1, Paragraph 1, Point 2, a term of Council membership is four years, and one reappointment, for a total term of eight years, is permitted.

Concerning the appointment to the University Council of persons not directly affiliated with the university, members of the broader university management and the state ministry issue appointment recommendations which must be approved by the Senate. Persons not directly affiliated with the university are appointed to the University Council by the state minister.

The University Council’s chairperson is elected from among the members not directly affiliated with the university by the Governing Council, and deputy/proxy duties are assigned to the Senate chairperson.

The University Council

  1. establishes the university by-laws and their statutory amendment, and decides  on proposals in accordance with Article 106, Section 2 of the Bavarian Higher Education Act,
  2. elects the President and may vote him/her out of office,
  3. elects the other members of the University’s Board of Management, with the exception of the chancellor, and may vote them out of office,
  4. decides on recommendations for the appointment of the chancellor based on nominations made by the Board of Management,
  5. decides on the university development plan presented by the Extended University Management,
  6. decides on the structuring of the university into faculties based on proposals made by the Extended University Management,
  7. decides on the establishment, alteration or cancellation of degree programmes,
  8. presents its position on the formation, alteration or cancellation of academic or artistic institutions by the university’s governing boards,
  9. presents its position on budget estimates or on business plan draft proposals,
  10. receives, and may deliberate on, the president’s financial accountability report,
  11. establishes the corporate budget,
  12. performs all other duties stipulated either directly or indirectly by law.

Before finalising target agreements with the state government, the University Council is heard and determines whether or not the objectives defined in these target agreements have been met.

The Senate

The University Senate is made up of five academic faculty representatives, one arts and sciences staff representative, one member representing other university employees, one student representative and the university women’s representative.

Members of the Management Board take part in Senate meetings in an advisory capacity.

From among its voting members, the Senate elects a chairperson, who calls and manages meetings, and also a deputy chairperson.

The Senate

  1. decides on university-decreed legal guidelines, as far as this is not otherwise stipulated,
  2. decides on matters of fundamental importance for research, the promotion of young academics and artists and the equal opportunity mandate,
  3. specifies research focus areas and decides on the establishment of collaborative research centres, PhD programmes and institutions pertaining thereto,
  4. decides on proposals for the establishment, alteration or cancellation of degree programmes,
  5. presents its position on nominations for professorial appointment made by the university’s appointments panels,
  6. decides, based on the conclusions of the faculty committee, on nominations for appointment to the position of honorary professor,
  7. decides on the conferral of the dignified titles of honorary senator, honorary citizen or honorary member of the university,
  8. executes the tasks of the faculty committee, if the university is not organised into faculties,
  9. decides on the confirmation of nominations for the appointment of governing council members not directly affiliated with the university,
  10. participates in other matters stipulated either directly or indirectly by law.

The Senate may establish advisory committees. The groups specified in Numbers 1 through 4 of Section 1, Paragraph 1are to be represented in these committees and should be involved in the process of appointing committee members; the university women’s representative is a member of these committees.

The enlistment of experts or specialists for the purpose of discussing or providing information on individual agenda items remains unaffected.

The Advisory board

In accordance with Article 35 of the Bavarian Higher Education Act, the University of Bamberg has an advisory board which publicly endorses the interests of the university and assists the it in accomplishing its tasks.

The advisory board consists of up to 12 members who are, following nomination by the Management Board or a university faculty, appointed by the Senate for a four-year term. Reappointment is permitted.

Service on the advisory board is voluntary and unsalaried.

From among its members, the advisory board elects a chairperson and a deputy chairperson for a term of four years. Re-election is permitted.

The advisory board chairperson should call a meeting at least once a year. The advisory board must convene when requested to do so by the Board of Management.