The Faculty Information Systems and Applied Computer Sciences (WIAI) has a unique interdisciplinary structure in the German-speaking world and combines information systems, which is based on economics and computer science, with applied computer science, which is oriented towards the humanities and cultural sciences, as well as classical fields of theoretical and practical computer science.

Special cooperations such as the TechnologieAllianzOberfranken (TAO) or programmes such as Studieren im Praxisverbund, which is organised by the Career & International Center of the WIAI Faculty, enable close networking with international, national and regional companies and business associations, some of which have already settled on ERBA Island. Students benefit from this right from the beginning of their studies.

For success in studies and career

The faculty is a leader in innovative topics: In recent years, new professorships have been created in the areas of privacy and security, smart environments, information systems management and mobile systems.
Currently, the faculty continues to grow: 12 new professorships are being advertised through the High-Tech Agenda Bavaria and almost 400 student places are being created. In addition, the campus for human-centred AI is being expanded with seven new professorships. Interdisciplinary links to the humanities, cultural studies, humanities and social sciences play a major role here.

The faculty places particular emphasis on the individual support of its students. This is regularly confirmed by excellent results in the corresponding categories of the CHE ranking, the student survey of the University of Bamberg and by our graduates.

In the summer semester of 2013, the Faculty's degree programmes were accredited or re-accredited and thus meet the strict quality criteria of the German Rectors' Conference. As part of the internal accreditation, the study programmes of the Faculty WIAI will be re-accredited again in 2020.

With the Virtual Master’s Degree Program of Information Systems (VAWi), the faculty, together with the University of Duisburg-Essen, offers the opportunity to complete an extra-occupational Master's programme.

Top results for Information Systems in the CHE ranking

Both the Bachelor's and Master's degree programmes of the Department of Information Systems at the University of Bamberg performed excellently in the CHE University Ranking 2020! Bamberg's Information Systems was in the top group ten times in 2020.

"The CHE ranking identifies Bamberg as an excellent university for training digitisation experts in Germany, not only for the Master's but also at Bachelor's level. Here, the best study conditions meet excellent career opportunities and a high quality of life," says Prof. Dr. Thorsten Staake.

Information on the CHE-Ranking

Die Fakultät Wirtschaftsinformatik und Angewandte Informatik (WIAI) besitzt im deutschsprachigen Raum einen einmaligen interdisziplinären Zuschnitt und verbindet die auf den Wirtschaftswissenschaften und der Informatik aufbauende Wirtschaftsinformatik mit geistes- und kulturwissenschaftlich ausgerichteten Angewandten Informatiken sowie klassischen Fachgebieten der theoretischen und praktischen Informatik.

Besondere Kooperationen wie die TechnologieAllianzOberfranken (TAO) oder Programme wie Studieren im Praxisverbund, welches vom Career & International Center der Fakultät WIAI organisiert wird, ermöglichen eine enge Vernetzung mit internationalen, nationalen und regionalen Unternehmen und Wirtschaftsverbänden, von denen sich einige bereits auf der ERBA-Insel angesiedelt haben. Davon profitieren die Studierenden schon zu Beginn ihres Studiums.

Für Erfolg in Studium und Beruf

Die Fakultät ist führend bei innovativen Themen: In den letzten Jahren entstanden neue Professuren zu den Schwerpunkten Privatsphäre und Sicherheit, Smart Environments, Information Systems Management und Mobile Systeme.
Aktuell wächst die Fakultät weiter: Durch die Hightech Agenda Bayern werden 12 neue Porfessuren ausgeschrieben und knapp 400 Studienplätze geschaffen. Zudem wird das Zentrum für Mensch-zentrierte KI durch sieben neue Professuren ausgebaut. Dabei spielen die interdisziplinären Bezügen zu den Geistes-, Kultur-, Human- und Sozialwissenschaften eine große Rolle.

Die Fakultät legt besonderen Wert auf die individuelle Betreuung ihrer Studierenden. Dies wird regelmäßig durch hervorragende Ergebnisse in den entsprechenden Kategorien des CHE-Rankings, der Studierendenbefragung der Universität Bamberg und durch unsere Absolventinnen und Absolventen bestätigt.

Im Sommersemester 2013 wurden die Studiengänge der Fakultät akkreditiert bzw. reakkreditiert und erfüllen somit die strengen Qualitätskriterien der Hochschulrektorenkonferenz. Im Rahmen der internen Akkreditierung werden die Studiengänge der Fakultät WIAI 2020 erneut reakkreditiert.

Mit dem virtuellen Weiterbildungsstudiengang Wirtschaftsinformatik (VAWi) bietet die Fakultät zusammen mit der Universität Duisburg-Essen die Möglichkeit, ein berufsbegleitendes Masterstudium zu absolvieren.

Spitzenergebnisse für die Wirtschaftsinformatik im CHE-Ranking

Sowohl die Bachelor- als auch die Masterstudiengänge des Fachbereichs Wirtschaftsinformatik der Universität Bamberg schneiden beim CHE-Hochschulranking 2020 hervorragend ab! Die Bamberger Wirtschaftsinformatik war 2020 zehnmal in der Spitzengruppe.

„Das CHE-Ranking weist Bamberg als exzellente Universität für die Ausbildung von Digitalisierungs-Experten in Deutschland aus, und das nicht nur für den Master sondern auch auf Bachelor-Ebene. Hier treffen beste Studienbedingungen auf exzellente Karrierechancen und eine hohe Lebensqualität“, sagt Wirtschaftsinformatiker Prof. Dr. Thorsten Staake.

Informationen zum CHE-Ranking