M.Sc. Applied Computer Science

Programme Abstract

Information technology is transforming the world we are living in. The Internet, mobile devices, and the digitalisation of multifarious products and processes make this evident in our daily lives. Our master’s programme in Applied Computer Science, that optimally prepares you for the multifaceted challenges in your future job, therefore focuses on:

  • A substantiated education in computer science, founded on established standards, forms the solid base
  • Exiting areas of specialisation, like Ambient Intelligent Interaction, Data Science, Cultural Computing, Artificial Intelligence, Media Informatics, and Human-Computer Interaction, focussing on the important intersection of humans and computers.
  • In the fields of application areas the horizon goes far beyond conventional applications, and focuses on areas of culture and media, with their demanding requirements for multimedia- and content-driven information processing.

The master’s programme in Applied Computer Science familiarises students with the demands of specific fields of application in order to be able to systematically solve computing-related problems in these fields using modern information technologies.

The programme therefore offers different foci and a broad range of options. Students with a primary interest on foundations are able to select from a broad spectrum of theoretic modules; students with a preference for practical work, can choose besides the master thesis two projects, in which they can work on current research topics.

The degree programme at a glance

The degree programme at a glance
Final ExaminationMaster's Examination (accompanying the programme)
TitleMaster of Science (M.Sc.)
ECTS-Points120 | 90
Standard Programme Duration4 | 3 Semesters (after a 6 | 7 semesters bachelor)
Programme StartPossible in both winter and summer semesters
Type of StudiesFull-time and part-time studies possible

Interactive Applied Computer Science

Current discussions and news concerning the degree programme can be found in the corresponding Virtual Campus cours

VC-Kurs Angewandte Informatik (B.Sc. / M.Sc.)

This course can be accessed without a password.

Accreditation and system accreditation

The system accreditation of the University of Bamberg has been successfully completed in June 2019, when the ACQUIN Accreditation Commission determined that all requirements have been met. Since then, the University of Bamberg has been responsible for the quality management of the study programmes.

The master’s degree programme in Applied Computer Science was last accredited in 2013. For the students, this means that the study programme with its structures and contents fulfils the required quality criteria of the Accreditation Council. Currently, all study programmes of the Faculty WIAI are in the process of re-accreditation.

Further information on all accreditation processes can be found in  QM ServiceNet

M.Sc. Angewandte Informatik

Kurzbeschreibung

Informatik verändert die Welt, in der wir leben. Das Internet, mobile Endgeräte und die Durchdringung vieler Produkte und Prozesse mit Informationstechnologie machen uns dies täglich deutlich. Unser Masterstudiengang in Angewandter Informatik, der Sie auf die vielfältigen Aufgaben, die sich daraus für Informatiker im Beruf ergeben, optimal vorbereitet, setzt daher entsprechende Akzente:

  • Eine fundierte Ausbildung in Informatik, die sich an den üblichen Standards orientiert, schafft die solide Basis.
  • Ein spannendes Angebot an Schwerpunkten wie Ambient Intelligent Interaction, Data Science, Kulturinformatik, Künstliche Intelligenz, Medieninformatik, und Mensch-Computer-Interaktion wird der Fokus auf die wichtige Nahtstelle zwischen Mensch und Computer gelegt.
  • Im Bereich der Anwendungsgebiete geht der Blick über herkömmliche Anwendungen hinaus in die Bereiche Kultur und Medien mit ihren durch hohe mediale und inhaltliche Anforderungen charakterisierten Prozessen der Informationsverarbeitung.

Der Masterstudiengang der Angewandten Informatik ermutigt Studierende dazu, die Anforderungen in unterschiedlichen Anwendungsgebieten zu verstehen, um Probleme innerhalb dieser Anwendungsfelder gezielt und mit Hilfe moderner Informationstechnologien lösen zu können.

Der Studiengang bietet verschiedene Ausprägungen und Wahlmöglichkeiten. Beispielsweise können Studierende mit einem großen Interesse an Grundlagen aus einem breiten Spektrum an theoretischen Modulen wählen; Studierende mit einer Präferenz für das praktische Arbeiten können neben der Masterarbeit auch zwei Projekte wählen, in denen praktisch an aktuellen Forschungsthemen gearbeitet wird.

Kurzprofil

Kurzprofil des Studiengangs
AbschlussprüfungMasterprüfung (studienbegleitend)
TitelMaster of Science (M.Sc.)
ECTS-Punkte120 | 90
Regelstudienzeit4 | 3 Semester (nach 6- | 7-semestrigem Bachlelor)
Studienbeginnzum Winter- und Sommersemester möglich
StudienformVollzeit oder Teilzeit möglich

Angewandte Informatik interaktiv

Aktuelle Neuigkeiten und Diskussionen zum Studiengang finden Sie im entsprechenden Kurs im Virtuellen Campus: VC-Kurs Angewandte Informatik (B.Sc. / M.Sc.)

Die Einschreibung ist ohne Zugangsschlüssel möglich.

Akkreditierung und Systemakkreditierung

Die Systemakkreditierung der Universität Bamberg ist mit Feststellung der Erfüllung aller Auflagen durch die Akkreditierungskommission von ACQUIN seit Juni 2019 erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Die Qualitätssicherung der Studiengänge liegt damit seither in der Verantwortung der Universität Bamberg.

Der Masterstudiengang Angewandte Informatik wurde zuletzt 2013 akkreditiert. Dies bedeutet für die Studierenden, dass der Studiengang mit seinen Strukturen und Inhalten die geforderten Qualitätskriterien des Akkreditierungsrates erfüllt. Aktuell befinden sich alle Studiengänge der Fakultät WIAI in der Re- bzw. Erstakkreditierung.

Weitere Informationen zu allen Akkreditierungsprozessen finden sich im QM ServiceNet