Information Systems and Applied Computer Sciences

M.Sc. Computing in the Humanities

Structure and Curriculum

In order to accommodate candidates from various backgrounds, and depending on each candidate’s previous studies, the master’s degree in Computing in the Humanities is offered in three distinctly fitted curricular tracks.

Track 1: Candidates holding a bachelor’s degree without Applied Computer Science elements

 

The degree track under the heading “Consecutively interdisciplinary, on the basis of a bachelor’s degree without Applied Computer Science elements” is aimed at students with little or no previous knowledge of Computer Science and Applied Computer Science.

Modules in Track 1
A1 Computer Science and Applied Computer Science45 ECTS-Points
A2 Computing in the Humanities27 ECTS-Points
A3 Seminars und Projects18 ECTS-Points
A4 Master's Thesis30 ECTS-Points

 

Track 2: Candidates holding a bachelor’s degree including a minor in Applied Computer Science (30 ECTS-Points)

The degree track under the heading “Consecutively interdisciplinary, on the basis of a bachelor’s degree with a minor in Applied Computer Science (30 ECTS)” is aimed at students who have completed an undergraduate minor comprising approx. 30 ECTS-Points and who possess basic knowledge of Computer Science and a programming language. This knowledge should correspond to the level required for a minor in Applied Computer Science (30 ECTS) at the University of Bamberg.

Modules in Track 2
A1 Computer Science and Applied Computer Science27-36 ECTS-Points
A2 Computing in the Humanities36-45 ECTS-Points
A3 Seminars und Projects18 ECTS-Points
A4 Master's Thesis30 ECTS-Points

Track 3: Candidates holding a bachelor’s degree including a minor in Applied Computer Science (45 ECTS-Points)

The degree track under the heading “Consecutively interdisciplinary, on the basis of a bachelor’s degree with a minor in Applied Computer Science (45 ECTS)” is aimed at students who have completed an undergraduate minor comprising approx. 45 ECTS-Points and who possess advanced knowledge of Computer Science and experience in a programming language, as well as basic knowledge in several fields of Applied Computer Science. This background qualification should correspond to the level required for a minor in Applied Computer Science (45 ECTS) at the University of Bamberg.

Moduls in Track 3
A1 Computer Science and Applied Computer Science21-27 ECTS-Points
A2 Computing in the Humanities45-51 ECTS-Points
A3 Seminars und Projects18 ECTS-Points
A4 Master's Thesis30 ECTS-Points

Struktur und Inhalt

Um verschiedenen Interessengruppen gerecht zu werden, kann der Masterstudiengang „Computing in the Humanities“ in Abhängigkeit vom qualifizierenden Studiengang in drei Profilen studiert werden.

Das Profil „Konsekutiv fachübergreifend auf Basis eines Bachelorstudiengangs ohne Anteile in der Angewandten Informatik“ richtet sich an Studierende, die keine oder sehr geringe Vorkenntnisse in Informatik und Angewandter Informatik aufweisen.

Module im Profil ohne Anteile in der Angewandten Informatik
A1 Informatik und Angewandte Informatik45 ECTS-Punkte
A2 Computing in the Humanities27 ECTS-Punkte
A3 Seminare und Projekte18 ECTS-Punkte
A4 Masterarbeit30 ECTS-Punkte

Das Profil „Konsekutiv fachübergreifend auf Basis eines Bachelorstudiengangs mit einem Nebenfach in Angewandter Informatik (30 ECTS)“ richtet sich an Studierende, die ein Nebenfach im Umfang von ca. 30 ECTS-Punkten im qualifizierenden Studiengang absolviert haben und über Grundlagenwissen in Informatik sowie Kenntnisse in einer Programmiersprache verfügen wie sie z.B. im Nebenfach Angewandte Informatik (30 ECTS-Punkte) an der Universität Bamberg vermittelt werden.

Module im Profil mit Nebenfach in Angewandter Informatik
(30 ECTS-Punkte)
A1 Informatik und Angewandte Informatik27-36 ECTS-Punkte
A2 Computing in the Humanities36-45 ECTS-Punkte
A3 Seminare und Projekte18 ECTS-Punkte
A4 Masterarbeit30 ECTS-Punkte

Das Profil „Konsekutiv fachübergreifend auf Basis eines Bachelorstudiengangs mit einem Nebenfach in Angewandter Informatik (45 ECTS)“ richtet sich an Studierende, die ein Nebenfach im Umfang von ca. 45 ECTS-Punkten im qualifizierenden Studiengang absolviert haben und über erweitertes Grundlagenwissen in Informatik, Kenntnisse in einer Programmiersprache sowie Basiswissen in mehreren Fächern der Angewandten Informatik verfügen wie sie z.B. im Nebenfach Angewandte Informatik (45 ECTS-Punkte) an der Universität Bamberg vermittelt werden.

Module im Profil mit Nebenfach in Angewandter Informatik
(45 ECTS-Punkte)
A1 Informatik und Angewandte Informatik21-27 ECTS-Punkte
A2 Computing in the Humanities45-51 ECTS-Punkte
A3 Seminare und Projekte18 ECTS-Punkte
A4 Masterarbeit30 ECTS-Punkte