Programme Profil

The master’s degree programme in Computing in the Humanities (CitH), which was designed specifically for graduates of bachelor’s programmes in humanities and human science and education, is the only one of its kind in Germany. Knowledge acquired during undergraduate studies is expanded upon to incorporate expertise in Computer Science and Applied Computer Science in order to provide comprehensive qualifications for occupational fields in the Digital Humanities.

The innovative degree programme is exceptionally tailored to providing the skills necessary to work on interdisciplinary projects focused on system design and development in the individual fields of application. Possible areas of focus within the degree programme are

This degree programme is offered in three variants, or “tracks,” in order to both suit candidates who did not complete a Computer Science minor in their previous studies, as well as candidates who already have a minor comprising either 30 or 45 ECTS-Points.

This means that specific, IT-based knowledge from previous studies is not a prerequisite for this master’s degree programme, but rather students are expected to have a genuine interest in Digital Humanities and be open to explore selected subject matters in Computer Science.

Fakultät Wirtschaftsinformatik und Angewandte Informatik

M.Sc. Computing in the Humanities

Profil des Studiengangs

Der in Deutschland einmalige Masterstudiengang Computing in the Humanities (CitH) richtet sich gezielt an Absolventinnen und Absolventen eines geistes-, kultur- oder humanwissenschaftlichen Bachelorstudienganges. Die bestehenden Kenntnisse aus dem Vorstudiengang werden um Fachwissen in Informatik und Angewandter Informatik erweitert und so zu einem umfassenden Qualifikationsprofil in Digital Humanities ergänzt.

Der Studiengang befähigt damit hervorragend zur Mitarbeit in interdisziplinären Projekten zur Systemgestaltung und -entwicklung in den jeweiligen Anwendungsfeldern. Mögliche Schwerpunkte im Masterstudium sind


Der Masterstudiengang wird dabei in drei Profilen angeboten, um Interessentinnen und Interessenten ohne IT-Nebenfach im Vorstudiengang ein ebenso passendes Studium zu bieten, wie solchen, die bereits im Vorstudium ein Nebenfach von 30 oder 45 ECTS-Punkten absolviert haben.

Voraussetzung für den Masterstudiengang Computing in the Humanities sind somit lediglich das Interesse an Digital Humanities und die Offenheit für IT-Fragestellungen, nicht aber bestimmte Kenntnisse aus dem Vorstudiengang.