Application and Requirements for Admission

Applications for the master’s degree programme in Computing in the Humanities can generally be submitted any time prior to a given semester’s registration deadline (official deadlines can be found on the Office of the Registrar’s homepage). In order to ensure the well-regulated processing of the application documents, we ask that they be submitted

  • no later than on 15th September for studies commencing in the winter semester.
  • no later than on 15th March for studies commencing in the summer semester.

Applications will be processed as soon as they are received, and not only after the final deadline. This means that in most cases students can be informed of admissions decisions within a few days of submitting their applications.

Applications received after the above-mentioned deadlines will only be considered in exceptional, substantiated cases.

Application Documents

Prior to applying, the Office of the Registar´s online application form must be completed. The following documents must subsequently also be submitted:

  • Hard copy of the online application form
  • Curriculum Vitae in tabular form
  • Certificate of an advisory interview
    • The interview is intended to help you decide for (or against) a Master's programme in Computing in the Humanities. In particular, the following points will be discussed: (1) prerequisites for an application, including the choice of the appropriate study profile, (2) challenges of the study programme, here especially the software-technical and the mathematical modules, (3) choices in the design of the study programme, (4) professional perspectives and student networks as a motivation to study.
    • The interview lasts about 20 minutes and can take place in person or via a video conference platform.
    • To make an appointment for a counselling interview, please contact the subject advisory service (studienberatung.cith@uni-bamberg.de).
  • University entrance qualification (proof of general or subject-specific university entrance qualification)
  • Transcript of records of completed university degree or equivalent qualification (qualifying degree)
    • If a final transcript or diploma is not yet available at the time of application, a complete and up-to-date transcript of courses, examinations and marks completed thus far must be submitted.
    • Applicants who cannot provide their final degree certificate prior to the expiration of the application deadline should include in their application a transcript of completed courses and examinations giving evidence that they have earned at least 150 ECTS-Points worth of credit.

Where can I upload my application documents or where do I have to send them?

Domestic Applicants
If you earned your higher education entry qualification at a German school, the application process is carried out online through the Application Portal of the Registrar's Office.

Foreign Applicants
If you have obtained your qualifying university degree at a foreign university, please send your application with all documents, if necessary in an officially certified German or English translation, as a certified copy by post to the Registrar's Office of the University of Bamberg, Kapuzinerstraße 25, 96047 Bamberg, Germany.

On to the good reasons for choosing a course of study.

Bewerbung und Zugangsvoraussetzungen

Eine Bewerbung für den Masterstudiengang „Computing in the Humanities“ ist grundsätzlich durchgehend bis zum Einschreibungsschluss des jeweiligen Semesters möglich. Um eine geregelte Bearbeitung aller Bewerbungen zu ermöglichen, bitten wir allerdings um Einreichung der Bewerbungsunterlagen möglichst bis zum

  • 15. September bei Studienbeginn zum Wintersemester
  • 15. März bei Studienbeginn zum Sommersemester.

 

Bitte entnehmen Sie den Einschreibungsschluss für das aktuelle Semester der zentralen Webseite zur Bewerbung für einen Masterstudiengang. Eingegangene Bewerbungen werden sofort und nicht erst nach Ende der Bewerbungsfrist bearbeitet. Daher kann die Entscheidung hinsichtlich des Zugangs in den meisten Fällen bereits wenige Wochen nach Eingang der Unterlagen mitgeteilt werden.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Zugangsvoraussetzung ein geistes-, kultur- oder humanwissenschaftlicher Hochschulabschluss ist, mit einer Regelstudienzeit von mindestens sechs Fachsemestern im Umfang von 180 ECTS-Punkten und der Gesamtnote "gut" (2,5) oder besser (siehe StuFPO §33).

Bewerbungsunterlagen

Vor einer Bewerbung ist der Online-Zugangsantrag der Studierendenkanzlei auszufüllen. Folgende Unterlagen sind anschließend vollständig einzureichen:

  • Ausgedruckter Online-Zugangsantrag
  • Tabellarischer Lebenslauf
  • Bescheinigung über ein Beratungsgespräch
    • Das Beratungsgespräch soll Ihnen helfen, sich für (oder gegen) ein Masterstudium Computing in the Humanities entscheiden zu können. Insbesondere werden folgende Punkte besprochen: (1) Voraussetzungen für eine Bewerbung, einschließlich der Wahl des geeigneten Studienprofils, (2) Herausforderungen des Studiums, hier speziell die softwaretechnischen und die mathematischen Module, (3) Wahlmöglichkeiten bei der Studiengestaltung, (4) berufliche Perspektiven und studentische Netzwerke als Studienmotivation.
    • Das Gespräch dauert etwa 20 Minuten und kann persönlich oder über eine Videokonferenzplattform stattfinden.
    • Um einen Termin für ein Beratungsgespräch zu vereinbaren, wenden Sie sich bitte an die Fachstudienberatung (studienberatung.cith@uni-bamberg.de).
  • Hochschulzugangsberechtigung (Nachweis der allgemeinen bzw. fachgebundenen Hochschulreife)
  • Zeugnis über den Hochschulabschluss oder gleichwertigen Abschluss (qualifizierender Studiengang)
    • Liegt das Abschlusszeugnis zum Zeitpunkt der Antragstellung noch nicht vor, muss ein vollständiger Nachweis der Studien- und Prüfungsleistungen (Leistungsübersicht bzw. Transcript of Records) beigefügt werden.
    • Bewerberinnen und Bewerber, die bis zum Ende der Bewerbungsfrist keinen Abschluss vorweisen können, fügen dem Antrag einen Nachweis der Studien- und Prüfungsleistungen (Leistungsübersicht bzw. Transcript of Records) bei, aus dem hervorgeht, dass sie Leistungen im Umfang von mindestens 150 ECTS-Punkten erworben haben.

Wo kann ich meine Bewerbungsunterlagen hochladen, bzw. wohin muss ich meine Bewerbungsunterlagen schicken?

Bewerbungsinländer

Wenn Sie Ihre Hochschulzugangsberechtigung an einer deutschen Schule erworben haben, erfolgt die Bewerbung regulär online im Masterbewerbungsportal der Studierendenkanzlei.

Bewerbungsausländer

Wenn Sie Ihren qualifizierenden Hochschulabschluss an einer ausländischen Hochschule erworben haben, richten Sie bitte Ihre Bewerbung mit allen Unterlagen, ggbfs. in einer amtlich beglaubigten deutschen oder englischen Übersetzung, in beglaubigter Kopie postalisch an die Studierendenkanzlei der Universität Bamberg, Kapuzinerstraße 25, 96047 Bamberg

Weiter zu den guten Gründen der Studienwahl.