M.Sc. Computing in the Humanities

Programme Abstract

The Computing in the Humanities (CitH) degree programme is aimed at graduates with a bachelor’s degree in a field pertaining to the humanities or human sciences and education. Interested students’ existing knowledge is expanded upon to incorporate expertise in Computer Science and Applied Computer Science. The degree programme provides the qualifications necessary to contribute to the design and development of software systems in various fields of application within the scope of interdisciplinary projects.

Available Areas of Focus

Various areas of specialization which are particularly important to the design of applications in the fields of culture and media can be pursued within the scope of the Computing in the Humanities degree programme:

The degree programme at a glance

The degree programme at a glance
Final ExaminationMaster's Examination (accompanying the programme)
TitleMaster of Science (M.Sc.)
ECTS-Points120
Standard Programme Duration4 Semesters
Programme StartPossible in both winter and summer semesters
Type of StudiesFull-time and part-time studies possible

Accreditation and system accreditation

The master’s degree programme in Computing in the Humanities was accredited in 2013. This means that students now benefit from a programme whose structure and curriculum fulfill all of the accreditation council’s quality criteria.

Currently, the University of Bamberg is in the process of system accreditation. While at the end of 2016 the procedure began formally with the confirmation of the admission requirements, the University is currently close to completion: At the end of February 2018, the University of Bamberg was commited the second time by a group of experts commissioned by the accreditation agency ACQUIN. As a result, the expert group honored the quality management system of the University of Bamberg with a recommendation to award the seal of the Accreditation Council. The official result and any conditions are expected during the summer months. Further information can be found in the QM ServiceNet

Computing in the Humanities interactive

Current discussions and news concerning the degree programme can be found in the corresponding Virtual Campus course:

VC-Kurs Computing in the Humanities (M.Sc.)

This course can be accessed without a password.


Recommend this site! share to facebook share to google+

M.Sc. Computing in the Humanities

Kurzbeschreibung

Der Studiengang "Computing in the Humanities" (CitH) richtet sich an Absolventinnen und Absolventen eines geistes-, kultur- oder humanwissenschaftlichen Bachelorstudienganges. Die bestehenden Kenntnisse der Interessenten werden um Fachwissen in Informatik und Angewandter Informatik erweitert. Der Studiengang befähigt dazu, in interdisziplinären Projekten an der Gestaltung und Entwicklung von Softwaresystemen in verschiedenen Anwendungsfeldern mitzuarbeiten.

Mögliche Schwerpunkte

Im Rahmen des Fachstudiums "Computing in the Humanities" bieten sich mehrere Vertiefungsrichtungen an, die für die Gestaltung von Anwendungen in den Bereichen Kultur und Medien von besonderer Bedeutung sind:

Kurzprofil

Kurzprofil des Studiengangs
AbschlussprüfungMasterprüfung (studienbegleitend)
TitelMaster of Science (M.Sc.)
ECTS-Punkte120
Regelstudienzeit4 Semester
Studienbeginnzum Winter- und Sommersemester möglich
StudienformVollzeit oder Teilzeit möglich

Akkreditierung und Systemakkreditierung

Der Masterstudiengang Computing in the Humanities wurde 2013 akkreditiert. Dies bedeutet für die Studierenden, dass der Studiengang mit seinen Strukturen und Inhalten die geforderten Qualitätskriterien des Akkreditierungsrates erfüllt.

Aktuell befindet sich die Universität Bamberg im Verfahren der Systemakkreditierung. Während Ende 2016 das Verfahren formal mit der Bestätigung der Zulassungsvoraussetzungen begann, steht die Universität aktuell kurz vor dem Abschluss: Ende Februar 2018 wurde die Universität Bamberg zum zweiten Mal durch eine von der Akkreditierungsagentur ACQUIN beauftragte Gutachtergruppe begangen. Im Ergebnis würdigte die Gutachtergruppe das Qualitätsmanagementsystem der Universität Bamberg mit einer Empfehlung zur Verleihung des Siegels des Akkreditierungsrates. Mit dem offiziellen Ergebnis sowie etwaigen Auflagen wird im Laufe der Sommermonate gerechnet. Weitere Informationen hierzu finden sich im QM ServiceNet

Computing in the Humanities interaktiv

Aktuelle Neuigkeiten und Diskussionen zum Studiengang finden Sie im entsprechenden Kurs im Virtuellen Campus:

VC-Kurs Computing in the Humanities (M.Sc.)

Die Einschreibung ist ohne Zugangsschlüssel möglich.


Diese Seite weiterempfehlen: share to facebook share to google+