International Studies

Gaining international experience during the course of a degree programme, either by studying or doing an internship abroad, is becoming more and more important.

The Faculty of Information Systems and Applied Computer Sciences (WIAI) emphatically encourage students to pursue studies abroad. The faculty support studies abroad by offering bilingual courses, specialization options, learning agreements and a comprehensive, flexible examination and course credit scheme. The latter allows for the recognition of credits earned outside the University of Bamberg (so long as there is sufficient equivalency) and for individualized degree programme planning (e.g. taking care of examination segments prior to or following a stay abroad).

Nearly one third of students from any given year already complete a portion of their studies abroad, be it as participants in one of the many University of Bamberg study abroad programmes, or in foreign studies of the students’ own devising.

Particularly in the International Information Systems Management and Software Systems Science programmes, it is very common for students to spend time abroad, either during an internship or studying for a semester or two at a foreign university. Internationalization  also plays an integral part in our degree programmes in Applied Computer Science, Information Systems and Education in Business and Information Systems. Studies abroad enrich your cultural awareness, quench your curiosity, demonstrate personal initiative and a high degree of organizational talent. Aside from the rewarding personal experiences, studies abroad provide essential knowledge of language and geography coupled with general life skills, without which it is almost impossible to gain a foothold in today’s international marketplace.

Further information

Further information concerning all aspects of studies abroad can be found in our Virtual Campus course titled Studium International WIAI.

Foreign Students in the Faculty

The WIAI faculty warmly welcome students from foreign universities. You can apply for studies at the University of Bamberg either as a participant in an exchange programme or on your own initiative.

Further information on studying at the University of Bamberg can be obtained from the International Office.

Fakultäten

Wirtschaftsinformatik und Angewandte Informatik

Studium International

Auslandserfahrungen während des Studiums in Form eines Auslandsstudiums oder eines Praktikums werden immer wichtiger.

Die Fakultät WIAI ermutigt ihre Studenten nachdrücklich zum Auslandsstudium. Sie fördert den Auslandsaufenthalt durch zweisprachige Ausbildungsangebote, Profilbildungsstudium, Learning Agreements und ein studienbegleitendes, flexibles Prüfungssystem. Letzteres ermöglicht - Gleichwertigkeit vorausgesetzt - die Anerkennung extern erbrachter Prüfungsleistungen sowie eine individuelle Studienplanung (z.B. Ablegung der Teilprüfungen vor oder nach dem Auslandsaufenthalt).

Nahezu ein Drittel aller Bamberger Studierender (eines Jahrgangs) absolvieren bereits einen Teil ihres Studiums im Ausland, sei es durch Teilnahme an den vielfältigen Auslandsprogrammen der Universität Bamberg, aber auch als eigeninitiativ organisiertes Auslandsstudium.

Besonders bei Studierenden des Studiengangs International Information Systems Management ist ein Auslandaufenthalt in Form eines Praktikums oder eines Semesters an einer ausländischen Universität weit verbreitet. Aber auch bei Studierenden der Angewandten Informatik, der Wirtschaftsinformatik und der Wirtschaftspädagogik/WI gehört ein Auslandsaufenthalt zum festen Bestandteil ihres Studiums. Durch ihr Auslandsstudium zeigen sie kulturelle Offenheit und Neugier, Eigeninitiative, und ein hohes Maß an Organisationstalent. Neben einem bereichernden Schatz an Lebenserfahrung stellen die dabei erworbenen Sprach- und Landeskenntnisse kaum zu überschätzende außerfachliche Schlüsselqualifikationen ("soft skills") dar, ohne die ein Bestehen oder gar aktives Mitgestalten im heutigen internationalen Wirtschaftsraum kaum mehr möglich ist.

Informationsangebot zum Auslandsaufenthalt

Weitere Informationen rund um Auslandsaufenthalte während des Studiums finden Sie in unserem VC-Kurs Studium International WIAI.

Ausländische Studierende an der Fakultät

Studierende ausländischer Universitäten sind an der Fakultät WIAI herzlich Willkommen. Sie können sich aus eigener Initiative heraus oder im Rahmen eines Austauschprogramms an der Universität Bamberg bewerben.

Weitere Informationen zum Studium an der Universität Bamberg erhalten Sie beim Akademischen Auslandamt.