Information Systems and Applied Computer Sciences

B.Sc. International Information Systems Management

Structure and Curriculum

The bachelor’s programme in “International Information Systems Management” is comprised of nine module groups. The module group distribution follows from the module scheme seen at right (click to enlarge).

The content of individual module groups is presented below. Detailed information concerning courses and modules pertaining to each module group can be found in the programme’s module handbook (see Regulations and Documents). In that section we also provide an exemplary model for course timetables.

A1: Foundations of Information Systems

In this module group’s obligatory courses, students acquire fundamental knowledge and skills pertaining to business informatics and information systems, become acquainted with databases, computing and operating systems, and deal with topics of information and knowledge management.

[42 ECTS-Points]

A2: Foundations of Economics and Business Administration

This module group comprises fundamentals of marketing, cost accounting, accounting and finance, human resource management, economics and law.

[36 ECTS-Points]

A3: Quantitative Methods

The module group A3 comprises lectures in mathematics, statistics and decision theory.

[15 ECTS-Points]

A4: International Information Systems Management

Module group A4 provides students with an introduction to international information systems management. Topics range from introductory courses in global project management, sourcing and service management to organizing a foreign market entry. Students are allowed a high degree of freedom in choosing courses for this module group, which means that, depending on interests or career plans, students can choose their own areas of initial focus.

[30-36 ECTS-Points]

A5: Seminars

The degree programme stipulates attendance of two bachelor’s seminars. In these courses, specific topics and problems pertaining to various segments of International Information Systems Management are expanded on and discussed.

[6 ECTS-Points]

A6: International Information Systems Management in Operational Practice

The courses in this module group establish a unique reference to the practices of corporate management. Instructors who are leading IT managers in international corporations present students with their knowledge of specific, practical topics such as the creation of outsourcing agreements, service management and software procurement, and so provide inspiration for future occupational fields (compare with the section on career and educational perspectives).

[12 - 18 ECTS Points]

A7: Bachelor’s Thesis

Within the scope of the bachelor’s thesis, students employ academic methods to work independently on a specified topic as it relates to Information Systems Management. The topic can be derived from the information systems, computer science, applied computer science and business administration and management subject areas. More detailed information concerning the selection of the bachelor’s thesis topic can be found in appendix 2 of the study and subject examination regulations (compare with the section on regulations and documents).

[12 ECTS Points]

A8: Contextual Studies

One significant focus area in contextual studies is the acquisition of subject-specific foreign language skills essential for graduates’ future professional activities. Furthermore, modules in the fields of philosophy and ethics, general key skills (e.g. presentation or rhetorical training), and the fundamentals of academic methods may also be selected.

[18-24 ECTS Points]

B1/B2: Specialization Studies

One of two variations is to be selected in the area of specialization studies. In the B1 variation, students earn course credit at a foreign university within the scope of a semester abroad, and these credits are, as a rule, recognized by the University of Bamberg and credited to studies here. In the B2 variation, a compulsory internship in an IT department of a company or another institution operating internationally must be completed. Practical activities and performance are outlined in an internship report. Additional elective courses from the master’s programme in Information Systems round out the practical experience gained from the internship.

[30 ECTS Points]

Fakultät Wirtschaftsinformatik und Angewandte Informatik

B.Sc. International Information Systems Management

Struktur und Inhalt

Das Bachelorstudium „International Information Systems Management“ besteht aus neun Modulgruppen. Die Verteilung ergibt sich aus der nebenstehenden Übersicht (zum Vergrößern bitte anklicken).

Die Inhalte der einzelnen Modulgruppen werden im Folgenden kurz vorgestellt. Detailinformationen zu Lehrveranstaltungen und Modulen innerhalb der Modulgruppen sind im Modulhandbuch des Studienganges zu finden (vgl. Abschnitt Ordnungen und Dokumente). Im gleichen Abschnitt haben wir exemplarische Studienverlaufspläne bereit gestellt.

In den Pflichtveranstaltungen dieser Modulgruppe erwerben die Studierenden solide Grundlagenkenntnisse in Wirtschaftsinformatik und Informationssystemen, lernen Datenbanken, Rechner und Betriebssysteme kennen und beschäftigen sich mit Informations- und Wissensmanagement.

[42 ECTS-Punkte]

Hier werden Grundlagen in Marketing, Kostenrechnung, Rechnungswesen und Finanzierung, Personalmanagement, Volkswirtschaftslehre und Recht vermittelt.

[36 ECTS-Punkte]

Innerhalb der Modulgruppe A3 werden Vorlesungen der Mathematik, Statistik und Entscheidungstheorie besucht.

[15 ECTS-Punkte]

Die Modulgruppe A4 führt die Studentinnen und Studenten in das internationale IS-Management ein. Die Themen reichen dabei von der Einführung ins globale Projektmanagement über Sourcing-Management und Service-Management bis hin zur Gestaltung eines Auslandsmarkteintritts. Bei der Wahl der einzelnen Lehrveranstaltungen innerhalb der Modulgruppe bestehen hohe Freiheitsgrade, so dass je nach Interessen oder Berufsvorstellungen erste Schwerpunkte im Studium gesetzt werden können.

[30-36 ECTS-Punkte]

Im Rahmen des Studiums werden zwei Bachelor-Seminare besucht. Hier werden spezifische Fragestellungen verschiedener Teilgebiete des International Information Systems Management erweitert und diskutiert.

[6 ECTS-Punkte]

Die Veranstaltungen innerhalb dieser Modulgruppe stellen einen besonderen Bezug zur unternehmerischen Managementpraxis her. Dozenten, die hauptberuflich führende IT-Manager in internationalen Unternehmen sind, vermitteln den Studierenden spezifische Praxisthemen wie bspw. Gestaltung von Outsourcingverträgen, Dienstleistermanagement, Softwarebeschaffung, u.v.m., und begeistern sie so für spätere berufliche Einsatzmöglichkeiten (vgl. dazu den Abschnitt Berufs- und Bildungsperspektiven).

[12 - 18 ECTS-Punkte]

Im Rahmen der Bachelorarbeit wird ein gestelltes Thema aus dem Bereich des International Information Systems Management selbstständig mit wissenschaftlichen Methoden bearbeitet. Das Thema kann dabei den Fächergruppen Wirtschaftsinformatik, Informatik, Angewandte Informatik oder Betriebswirtschaftslehre entnommen sein. Nähere Informationen zur Wahl des Themengebietes der Bachelorarbeit sind in Anhang 2 der Studien- und Fachprüfungsordnung zu finden (vgl. Abschnitt Ordnungen und Dokumente).

[12 ECTS-Punkte]

Ein wesentlicher Schwerpunkt des Kontextstudiums liegt in der Vermittlung von fachspezifischen Fremdsprachenkenntnissen, die grundlegend für die spätere berufliche Tätigkeit der Absolventinnen und Absolventen sind. Darüber hinaus sind Module aus den Bereichen Philosophie & Ethik, Allgemeine Schlüsselqualifikationen (z.B. Präsentations- oder Rhetorikschulungen) sowie Grundzüge wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens wählbar.

[18-24 ECTS-Punkte]

Im Profilbildungsstudium ist genau eine von zwei Varianten zu wählen. In Variante B1 erwerben die Studierenden in einem Auslandsstudiensemester Studienleistungen an einer ausländischen Hochschule, wobei die Anrechnung dieser Leistungen auf das Studium in Bamberg in aller Regel gewährleistet ist.
In Variante B2 ist ein Pflichtpraktikum in der IT-Organisation eines Unternehmens oder einer anderen Einrichtung im internationalen Kontext zu absolvieren. Im Rahmen eines Praktikumsberichtes werden die Ergebnisse der Tätigkeit vorgestellt. Zusätzliche und frei wählbare Lehreinheiten aus dem Master-Studiengang Wirtschaftsinformatik ergänzen die Erfahrungen aus dem Praktikum.

[30 ECTS-Punkte]