Courses and tutorials of the University Library

The University Library offers numerous introductory sessions and courses that are open to anyone who is interested. For some degree courses, introductory library sessions and the database search course are mandatory.

The courses are held in German, but we offer English sessions on request. Please adress the contact person of the particular course.

We also offer online tutorials and explanatory films that you can use at any time to find out more - for example, how to find books and articles in our library, how to search in the subject databases that are important for your studies, or how interlibrary loans work.

Library Lunch

A little informative snack during lunch break with different topics around the library.

Curious about the Library? A brief introduction

To all those who do not have much time: We can take you on a 15 to 20-minute tour through one of the Branch Libraries and answer the most important questions on how to use the Library.

Introductory library sessions

This is our basics session which centres in on literature search and checking out items: How do I search the Online Catalogue? How do I find books in the University Library and how long can I keep them? How do I find articles in magazines and how does interlibrary search work?

Articles & More - Database search

Each subject matter has its ideosyncracies - and its own sources of information. We will show you how you can find current research results, how to present the most important databases of your field of study, and give you hints about research strategies.

Citavi reference and knowledge management

Especially when it comes to extensive academic works, it is easy to lose track of what you have read. With the Citavi reference management programme, you can collect references, ideas, and citations and then simply copy them into your paper with a mouse click. The bibliography will be created automatically. Citavi runs as a desktop application only under Windows. For Mac and Linux, Citavi offers a web version.

Web-based reference management

We will show you the Zotero reference management programme, which is a Mac and Linux alternative to Citavi.

Reference managment in LaTeX

Workshop in cooperation with Fachschaft WIAI

Publikation der Dissertation

Die Promotionsordnungen eröffnen Ihnen mehrere Möglichkeiten, Ihre Dissertation zu publizieren. Wir informieren Sie über die Vor- und Nachteile dieser Möglichkeiten, beschreiben den Ablauf der Veröffentlichung und erklären Besonderheiten bei kumulativen Dissertationen.

Workshop: Current Research Information System (FIS) - Everything about publications

The Current Research Information System (FIS) records and visualizes research activities at the University of Bamberg. One important element of this system are publications. Faculty members can publish and document their findings in the FIS. In the workshop, you will learn about the capabilities of the FIS and how to use them.

Training for faculty staff

This class is intended to give you an insight into offers of the university library, their usage, and answers to faculty/chair specific questions. (Contacts & contact partners, confined materials, book suggestions/accession lists, course reserves, usage of the library system/interlibrary loans, online services)

Reference management at the Chair using Citavi

Updating publication lists, keeping track of your articles saved in PDFs, maintaining a reference database together with other people: In this course you will learn how you can use Citavi to manage the literature at a Chair or in a work group.

Offers for schools

We offer various sessions for high schoolers, whether it's doing a thematic literature search for the "W-Seminar" or spending an entire morning at the University Library, under the motto "Be a student for a day".

Further education for teachers

Information literacy is something that is not just pertinent to universities but also for schools. Therefore, we regularly offer courses to school teachers. The themes are "Fit for a W-Seminar" and "Professional internet research and use of online resources".

You didn't find what you were looking for?

You are missing a specific topic or would like to see a library session added for your class? Please let us know about it. We'll be happy to offer additional sessions, if needed.

Kurse und Tutorials der Universitätsbibliothek

Die Universitätsbibliothek bietet zahlreiche Einführungen und Kurse an, die allen Interessierten offenstehen. In einigen Studiengängen sind die Bibliothekseinführungen und der Datenbankrecherche-Kurs verpflichtend.

Unsere Kurse werden auf Deutsch gehalten. Englische Kurse bieten wir auf Anfrage an. Bitte wenden Sie sich an die Ansprechpartner des jeweiligen Kurses.

Zudem bieten wir Online-Tutorials und Erklärfilme an, mit denen Sie sich jederzeit informieren können - zum Beispiel darüber, wie Sie bei uns Bücher und Artikel finden, wie man in den für Ihr Studium wichtigen Fachdatenbanken fündig wird oder wie die Fernleihe funktioniert.

Bib um 12

Der kleine Infohappen für die Mittagspause mit verschiedenen Themen rund um die Bibliothek.

Kurzeinführung "Neugierig auf die Bibliothek"

Für alle, die nicht viel Zeit haben: In 15 - 20 Minuten führen wir Sie durch eine Teilbibliothek und beantworten die wichtigsten Fragen rund um die Bibliotheksbenutzung.

Basiskurs Bibliothek

Unsere Grundlagenveranstaltung rund um Literaturrecherche und Ausleihe: Wie recherchiert man im Bamberger Katalog, wie findet man Bücher in der Universitätsbibliothek und wie lange darf man sie behalten? Wie kommt man an Zeitschriftenartikel und wie funktioniert die Fernleihe?

Aufsätze und mehr - Datenbankrecherche

Jedes Fachgebiet hat seine Besonderheiten - und seine eigenen Informationsressourcen. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie Sie an aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse gelangen, stellen die wichtigsten Datenbanken Ihres Fachgebietes vor und geben Tipps zu Recherchestrategien.

Literaturverwaltung und Wissensmanagement mit Citavi

Gerade bei größeren wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten verliert man schnell den Überblick über die gelesene Literatur. Im Literaturverwaltungsprogramm Citavi können Sie Ihre Literaturangaben, Gedanken und Zitate sammeln und per Klick in Ihren Text übernehmen. Das Literaturverzeichnis erstellt sich automatisch. Citavi funktioniert als Desktop-Applikation nur unter Windows. Für Mac und Linux bietet Citavi eine Webversion.

Webbasierte Literaturverwaltung

Die Alternative zu Citavi für Mac und Linux. Wir stellen Ihnen das Literaturverwaltungsprogramm Zotero vor.

Literaturverwaltung in LaTeX

Workshop in Zusammenarbeit mit der Fachschaft WIAI

Publikation der Dissertation

Die Promotionsordnungen eröffnen Ihnen mehrere Möglichkeiten, Ihre Dissertation zu publizieren. Wir informieren Sie über die Vor- und Nachteile dieser Möglichkeiten, beschreiben den Ablauf der Veröffentlichung und erklären Besonderheiten bei kumulativen Dissertationen.

Workshop: Forschungsinformationssystem (FIS) – Rund um die Publikation

Das Forschungsinformationssystem (FIS) verzeichnet und vernetzt Forschungsaktivitäten an der Universität Bamberg. Ein Element sind die Publikationen, die im FIS nachgewiesen und veröffentlicht werden können. Der Workshop zeigt, was das FIS rund um die Publikation alles kann und wie das geht.

Schulungen für Lehrstuhlangehörige

In diesem Kurs geben wir einen Überblick über die Angebote der Bibliothek und deren Nutzung und geben Auskunft zu lehrstuhlspezifischen Fragen (Kontakte & Ansprechpersonen, Handapparate, Anschaffungsvorschläge / Neuerwerbungslisten, Semesterapparate, Benutzung / Fernleihe, Online-Angebote).

Literaturverwaltung am Lehrstuhl mit Citavi

Publikationslisten aktualisieren, den Überblick über Artikel-PDFs behalten, gemeinsam eine Literaturdatenbank pflegen: In diesem Kurs zeigen wir Ihnen, wie Sie das Programm Citavi für die Literaturverwaltung an einem Lehrstuhl oder in einer Arbeitsgruppe einsetzen können.

Angebote für Schulen

Thematische Literatursuche für das W-Seminar oder ein ganzer Vormittag in der Universitätsbibliothek unter dem Motto "Student/-in für einen Tag" - wir bieten verschiedene Veranstaltungen für Oberstufenkurse an.

Fortbildungen für Lehrerinnen und Lehrer

Informationskompetenz ist nicht nur in der Hochschullehre, sondern auch für den Schulunterricht ein wichtiges Thema. Wir bieten regelmäßig Fortbildungen für Lehrerinnen und Lehrer zu den Themen "Fit für das W-Seminar" und "Professionelle Internetrecherche und Nutzung von Online-Ressourcen" an.

Nicht das Gewünschte dabei?

Ihnen fehlt ein Thema oder Sie würden gerne eine Bibliotheksveranstaltung in Ihre Lehrveranstaltung integrieren? Bitte teilen Sie uns Ihre Wünsche mit, bei Bedarf bieten wir gerne weitere Kurse an.