Dean, Vice-Deans and Deans of Study

The Dean

Prof. Dr. Markus Behmer

Professorship for Communication Studies with a focus on Empirical Communicator Research

Term: Oct. 1, 2015 - Sep. 30, 2023

The dean represents the faculty in dealings with the university’s other academic and administrative bodies and in matters of external relevance. Most importantly, he is the official contact person for the university’s Board of Management and is a member of the Extended Board of Management.

The dean presides over faculty committee meetings and is responsible for implementing the resolutions issued therein. Furthermore, he manages the faculty’s finances and other resources.

The Vice-Deans

The two vice-deans assist and support the dean in his duties and also act as representatives in his stead. They are particularly responsible for research and are therefore ex officio members of the standing committee for research and young academics (FNK).

Prof. Dr. Sabine Freitag

Chair of Modern History

Term: Oct. 10, 2021 - Sep. 30, 2023

Prof. Dr. Kai Nonnenmacher

Chair of Romance Literary and Cultural Studies

Term: Oct. 10, 2021 - Sep. 30, 2023

Prof. Dr. Marc Redepenning

Chair of Geography I (Social and Population Geography)

Term: Oct. 14, 2015 - March 31, 2025

Prof. Dr. Thomas Weißer (Laubach)

Chair of Theological Ethics

Term: Oct. 1, 2015 - March 31, 2025