Prof. Dr. Steffen Schindler

Professor of Sociology with Focus on Education and Work in the Life Course


Contact information

Feldkirchenstraße 21
96045 Bamberg
e-mail: steffen.schindler(at)uni-bamberg.de
phone: (+49) 0951-863-2415
room: F21/01.01

Office hours during the semester:
Tuesdays, 3-4 pm (appointments via e-mail).

Office hours during the term break:
Appointments via e-mail.
 


Vita

Since October 2016 Steffen Schindler is Professor of Sociology with Focus on Education and Work in the Life Course at the University of Bamberg.  From October 2013 to September 2016 he was holding this position as a Junior Professor.

After studying social sciences at the Universities of Stuttgart and Mannheim he worked as researcher at the Mannheim Centre for European Social Research from 2006 to 2012. 

In 2012 he obtained his doctoral degree at the University of Mannheim. After that he held a post-doc scholarship of the Fritz Thyssen Foundation, which he spent at the University of Trento. In October 2012 he took up a post-doc position at the University of Hannover.

His research interests cover the sociology of education and the labour market. He is particularly interested in processes and mechanisms of social inequality in educational attainment, the transition from education to the labour market and labour market returns of education.

Fakultät Sozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Professur für Soziologie mit dem Schwerpunkt Bildung und Arbeit im Lebensverlauf

Prof. Dr. Steffen Schindler

Professor für Soziologie mit dem Schwerpunkt Bildung und Arbeit im Lebensverlauf

Feldkirchenstraße 21
96045 Bamberg
E-mail: steffen.schindler(at)uni-bamberg.de
Telefon: 0951/863-2415
Raum FG1/01.09

Sprechstunde in der Vorlesungszeit:
Donnerstags von 11:00 - 12:00 Uhr

Sprechstunde in der vorlesungsfreien Zeit:
Nach Vereinbarung per E-Mail


Lebenslauf in Kurzform

Prof. Dr. Steffen Schindler ist seit dem Wintersemester 2016/2017 Inhaber der Professur für Soziologie mit dem Schwerpunkt Bildung und Arbeit im Lebensverlauf, die er bereits seit Oktober 2013 als Juniorprofessor an der Universität Bamberg bekleidet hat.

Nach seinem Studium der Sozialwissenschaften an den Universitäten Stuttgart und Mannheim war er von 2006 bis 2012 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Mannheimer Zentrum für europäische Sozialforschung. Anfang 2012 promovierte er an der Universität Mannheim.

Danach war er Forschungsstipendiat der Fritz Thyssen Stiftung am HIS-Institut für Hochschulforschung und an der Universität Trento, bevor er im Oktober 2012 eine Stelle als akademischer Rat im Arbeitsbereich Bildungssoziologie an der Universität Hannover antrat. 

Seine Forschungsinteressen liegen im Bereich der Bildungs- und Arbeitsmarktsoziologie. Dabei beschäftigt er sich insbesondere mit Prozessen sozialer Ungleichheit beim Bildungserwerb, dem Übergang aus dem Bildungssystem in den Arbeitsmarkt sowie den Arbeitsmarkterträgen von Bildung.