Research awards of Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Humboldt Research Awards

Professor Roy Baumeister

At the suggestion of Professor Astrid Schütz, psychologist Professor Roy Baumeister from Florida State University (USA) was presented with the research award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, one of the highest academic prizes in Germany. The Humboldt Research Award, worth 60,000 euros, enabled Professor Baumeister to spend a total of seven months researching mainly at the Human Sciences and Education Faculty at the University of Bamberg from 2015 to 2018.

Professor Donald B. Rubin

Professor Donald B. Rubin has received numerous awards. In 2009, he was the first recipient of the Alexander von Humboldt Award at the University of Bamberg, which honours international scholars for fundamental research in their own field. Professor Rubin gave(?) several guest lectures in the Faculty of Social Sciences, Economics and Business, helped to organise roundtable discussions and a workshop, and supervised a dissertation and research projects.

He has been a professor of statistics at the elite U.S. Harvard University for over 25 years and holds degrees in psychology from Princeton University and in computer science and statistics from Harvard University. In 1970, he received his doctorate in statistics on the subject of “The Use of Matched Sampling and Regression Adjustment to Remove Bias in Observational Studies”.

Georg Forster Research Award

Professor Ezra Chitando

Religious scholar Professor Ezra Chitando, professor at the University of Zimbabwe in Harare, Zimbabwe, is an advocate of active religious studies with a high level of practical relevance. His innovative work, which deals with HIV and gender roles, for example, makes an important contribution to development policy issues. In Germany, he planned collaborations with colleagues from the chair of New Testament Studies at the University of Bamberg.

Faculty: Humanities, New Testament Studies
Duration: 1 December 2016–31 January 2017, 1 June 2016–31 August 2016

Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award

Professor Musa Wenkosi Dube (University of Botswana, Gaborone)

Professor Dube has made pioneering contributions to postcolonial feminist biblical studies, especially with regard to Bible reading in the context of HIV/AIDS. During her research stay in Bamberg, she worked on the question of how humanistic and liberating empowerment approaches to Bible interpretation can be further developed in Africa without falling into a chauvinistic “Africanism”.

Faculty: Humanities, New Testament Studies
Duration: 1 January 2011–31 July 2011

Professor Johanna Stiebert (University of Leeds, UK)

Professor Stiebert has played a decisive role in the development of international research networks on African-centred study of the Bible. She has also made important contributions to postcolonial feminist biblical studies, especially with regard to the development of a Bible reading that engages in dialogue between Western and African specialists, in the overarching development of One World Studies.

Faculty: Humanities, New Testament Studies
Duration: 1 August 2017–31 July 2018

Anneliese Maier Research Award

Professor Alan Mikhail (Yale University, USA)

In 2018, the University of Bamberg was the only host institution in(?) Bavaria for this prestigious award. Professor Mikhail, together with other German researchers—in particular those from Turkish Studies at the University of Bamberg—held workshops for young scholars and exchanged ideas with colleagues in the field.

Faculty: Humanities, Medieval History