The current delegation of 2020/2021

At the world’s biggest simulation conference National Model United Nations (NMUN) 2021 in New York we, the delegation from the University of Bamberg, have the honor to represent the Republic of Ecuador.

The Republic of Ecuador - Spanish: República del Ecuador and Kichwa: Ecuador Mamallakta - is a state in the northwest of South America with about 17 million inhabitants, which borders Colombia in the northeast, Peru in the southeast and the Pacific Ocean in the west. The South American country is one of the most diverse in the world in terms of its geography, topography, climate and ethnic groups.

The first cultures of Ecuador were formed by immigrants who came to the coast of Ecuador from Brazil. Ecuador's history is marked by the Inca period, the Spanish conquest and their colonial period. After the struggle for independence from Spain, the present-day Republic of Ecuador formed Greater Colombia with other neighbouring states. The Republic of Ecuador emerged from the disintegration of Greater Colombia in 1930. After a severe financial crisis in 2000, the sucre, Ecuador's currency, was abolished and the US dollar was introduced. In the 21st century, the Republic of Ecuador's politics have always been marked by political unrest and unstable governments. After the left-leaning Rafael Coerea as president from 2007 to 2017, Lenín Moreno as his conservative successor is now bringing a new course to Ecuador's politics.

On 21 December 1945, the Republic of Ecuador was admitted as an official member state of the United Nations. Ecuador was elected three times as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council - most recently in 1992. The Republic of Ecuador also participated with soldiers in the United Nations Stabilisation Mission in Haiti (MINUSTAH). The Republic of Ecuador is well integrated within the South American region and is, among other organizations, a member of the Comunidad Andina (CAN) and the Forum for Progress and Development of South America (PROSUR/FPDSA).

The flag of the Republic of Ecuador was officially adopted on 7 November 1900. The colours symbolise the following: Gold symbolises the wealth of Ecuador, blue the beauty of Ecuador's nature as well as the sky and the ocean, and red the freedom and independence as well as the blood that was shed for it. The components of the coat of arms symbolise strength and courage with the condor, the Chimborazo and the Rio Guayas with the landscape, unity and trade with the boat, pre-Columbian tradition with the golden sun, the March Revolution of 1845 with the four signs of the zodiac, peace and dignity with the palm tree and laurel leaves, and republican power with the bundle of rods.

We are excited to represent the Republic of Ecuador at NMUN 2021 online. 

On the following pages you can find out more about us and our progress reagrding NMUN 2021

You can also visit us on

to get further impressions on our preparation and conferences.

All former Delegates of Bamberg can stay in contact at the Facebook alumni group.