Information Systems and Applied Computer Sciences

B.Sc. Software Systems Science

Structure and Curriculum

The bachelor’s programme in Software Systems Science is based on a standard programme duration of seven semesters and leads to the conferral of the Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) degree. It provides wide-ranging elective options and therefore allows students to align areas of specialization with their own interests in various fields of software systems science, particularly in programming, software engineering and in complex and distributed systems. Portions of the programme are completed at a partner university abroad or in a foreign or internationally active domestic company.

The degree programme is comprised of the seven module groups outlined below.

A1: Foundations of Mathematics

In this module group’s compulsory courses, students are taught the fundamentals of mathematics relevant to understanding computer science methods and studies in Software Systems Science. This pertains particularly to analysis, linear algebra, propositional and first-order logic, and statistics. 

[27 ECTS-Points]

A2: Foundations of Computer Science

This module group comprises an introduction to computer science as well as fundamental principles of algorithms and data structures, data management, concepts of theoretical informatics and aspects of formal programme analysis. The curricula of these compulsory courses prepare students for advanced-level courses.

[36 ECTS-Points]

A3: Programming and Software Technology

In addition to the compulsory introduction to software engineering (with its team project dealing with software development), students become acquainted with concepts of advanced imperative and non-procedural programming. Furthermore, students can select additional modules from the subject areas of programming, compiler design and the development of human-machine interfaces. These modules aid in developing an area of focus within the degree programme.

[18-42 ECTS-Points]

A4: Complex and Distributed Systems

This module group provides students with an overview of methods and concepts used in developing complex and distributed systems. This encompasses modules pertaining to data communication and the programming of such systems. Furthermore, students can better define a specific area of focus by choosing modules in logic, cooperative and ubiquitous systems, geographic information systems and intelligent agents.

[21-42 ECTS-Points]

A5: Minor subject

This module group affords students extensive opportunities to expand their knowledge base by enrolling in courses in the humanities, human sciences and education, social sciences, economics and business administration. Bearing in mind each module’s specific requirements, these may be chosen freely from each faculty’s respective catalogue of courses offered as bachelor’s degree subsidiary subjects but should bear some relevance to Software Systems Science.

[12-20 ECTS-Points]

A6: Contextual Studies

Within the scope of contextual studies, students can acquire foreign language skills essential to future careers in fields with ever increasing international activity and cooperation. Additionally, students may choose to take courses in project management, foundations of research methods, philosophy and ethics, as well as training courses on presentations or rhetoric.

[12-16 ECTS-Points]

A7: Seminars and Projects

Students must take a total of two seminars in the subject areas of computer science and applied computer science. A two-semester bachelor’s project dealing with a topic of Software Systems Science and expanding on and applying the curriculum of the A2, A3 and A4 module groups is also compulsory. These courses are meant to provide a more in-depth examination of specific topics in the areas of computer science, applied computer science and information systems relating to Software Systems Science. These courses therefore also prepare students for working on systematically organized team projects and foster key skills such as the presentation of project results or the target-oriented execution of goal-oriented, practical projects.

[18 ECTS-Points]

A8: Bachelor’s Thesis

Within the scope of the bachelor’s thesis, students employ academic methods to work independently on a specified topic from the field of computer science as it relates to Software Systems Science. More detailed information concerning the choice of a subject area for the bachelor’s thesis can be found in appendix 2 of the subject examination regulations.

[12 ECTS-Points]

Struktur und Inhalt

Das Bachelorstudium Software Systems Science führt nach einer Regelstudienzeit von sechs Semestern zum Abschluss Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.). Es sieht weitreichende Wahlmöglichkeiten vor und erlaubt damit eine an persönlichen Interessen ausgerichtete Vertiefung in verschiedenen Bereichen der Software Systems Science, insbesondere in Programmierung und Softwaretechnik und in komplexen und verteilten Systemen.

Das Studium besteht aus sieben Modulgruppen, die im Folgenden kurz vorgestellt werden.

In den Pflichtveranstaltungen dieser Modulgruppe werden grundlegende mathematische Sachverhalte vermittelt, die für das Verständnis informatischer Methoden und das Studium der Software Systems Science relevant sind. Hierzu zählen insbesondere Analysis, lineare Algebra, Aussagen- und Prädikatenlogik sowie Statistik.

[27 ECTS-Punkte]

Diese Modulgruppe beinhaltet eine Einführung in die Informatik sowie Grundlagenvorlesungen zu Algorithmen und Datenstrukturen, Datenmanagement, Konzepten der theoretischen Informatik und Aspekten der formalen Programmanalyse. Die in diesen Pflichtveranstaltungen vermittelten Inhalte bereiten die Studierenden auf weiterführende Veranstaltungen vor.

[36 ECTS-Punkte]

Neben der verpflichtenden Einführungsveranstaltung zum Software Engineering mit dazugehörigem Teamprojekt zur Softwareentwicklung erlernen die Studierenden Konzepte der fortgeschrittenen imperativen Programmierung und der nichtprozeduralen Programmierung. Darüber hinaus sind weitere Module aus dem Bereich der Programmierung, des Compilerbaus und der Entwicklung von Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstellen wählbar. Mit Hilfe dieser Module können im Studium Schwerpunkte gesetzt werden.

[18-42 ECTS-Punkte]

In dieser Modulgruppe erhalten die Studierenden einen Überblick über die Methoden und Konzepte zur Entwicklung komplexer und verteilter Systeme. Dies umfasst Module zur Datenkommunikation und der Programmierung solcher Systeme. Darüber hinaus können mit der Wahl von Modulen zur Logik, zu kooperativen und ubiquitären Systemen, zu Geoinformationssystemen und zu intelligenten Agenten Schwerpunkte gesetzt werden.

[21-42 ECTS-Punkte]

Diese Modulgruppe bietet den Studierenden weitreichende Möglichkeiten, ihre Kenntnisse durch Module der Fakultäten Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaften, Humanwissenschaften und Sozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften zu erweitern. Die Module können – unter Berücksichtigung der jeweiligen Modulvoraussetzungen – frei aus den entsprechenden Bachelornebenfachkatalogen dieser Fakultäten gewählt werden, sollten aber einen Bezug zur Software Systems Science haben.

[12-20 ECTS-Punkte]

Im Rahmen des Kontextstudiums werden z.B. Fremdsprachenkenntnisse erworben, die für die spätere berufliche Tätigkeit der Absolventinnen und Absolventen aufgrund zunehmender internationaler Zusammenarbeit in vielen Tätigkeitsfeldern erforderlich sein werden. Darüber hinaus sind Module aus den Bereichen Projektmanagement, Grundlagen des wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens, Philosophie und Ethik sowie Präsentations- oder Rhetorikschulungen wählbar.

[12-16 ECTS-Punkte]

Insgesamt müssen zwei Seminare aus den Themenbereichen der Informatik und Angewandten Informatik belegt werden. Ein zweisemestriges Bachelorprojekt zu einem Thema der Software Systems Science, welches die Inhalte der Modulgruppen A2, A3 und A4 vertieft und anwendet, ist ebenfalls verpflichtend. Im Rahmen der Veranstaltungen werden insbesondere spezifische Fragestellungen der Themenbereiche Informatik, Angewandte Informatik und Wirtschaftsinformatik mit Bezug zur Software Systems Science vertieft. Die Veranstaltungen bereiten dabei auch auf das systematische Arbeiten im Team vor und fördern so Schlüsselqualifikationen wie die Präsentation von Arbeitsergebnissen oder die zielgerichtete Bearbeitung praxisrelevanter Projekte.

[18 ECTS-Punkte]

Im Rahmen der Bachelorarbeit wird ein vorgegebenes Thema aus dem Bereich Informatik mit Bezug zu Software Systems Science selbstständig mit wissenschaftlichen Methoden bearbeitet. Nähere Informationen zur Wahl des Themengebietes der Bachelorarbeit sind in Anhang 2 der Studien- und Fachprüfungsordnung zu finden.

[12 ECTS-Punkte]