Structure and Curriculum

The master’s degree programme comprises the six module groups outlined below.

Particular importance is placed on guided individual studies represented by at least two master’s seminars, up to two research-oriented projects—each with 15 ECTS credit points—and a master’s thesis comprising 30 ECTS credit points.


The A1 module group is based on research-relevant topics pertaining to Applied Computer Science. Depending on the students’ fields of interest, they may complete modules in cognitive systems, cultural computing, media informatics, human-computer interaction, as well as smart environments.

[24-54 ECTS credit points]

In the A2 module group, students focus on specific topics in theoretical computer science, in communication systems, in distributed and mobile systems, and also in software technology and programming languages.

[12-30 ECTS credit points]

In this module group, students may elect to acquire additional knowledge in fields of application like information systems, geography, heritage conservation, earth sciences, communication science, psychology, sociology economics and business education.

[0-18 ECTS credit points]

In the A4 module group Projects students complete a master project in Applied Computer Science with 15 ECTS credit points. A second master project in Applied Computer Science with 15 ECTS credit points can be completed.

[15-30 ECTS credit points]

In the module group A5 students complete two to three seminars, each including an oral presentation and a term paper. At least two seminars are from the fields of applied computer science and one optional third seminar can be from the computer science and information systems.

[6-9 ECTS credit points]

The master’s thesis is a supervised academic paper that must be completed within 6 months. It can be written on topics from the fields of Applied Computer Science. Topics from other fields may be possible, on application and subject to approval Theses must be defended orally.

[30 ECTS credit points]