Philosophy and German-Italian Culture

The Double Degree Master in Philosophy represents a cooperation between the universities of Bamberg, Triest and Udine. This program makes it possible to study for one year in Germany and for one year in Italy, with the aim of a double-degree in Philosophy, the inter-university "Laurea Magistrale" of the Universities of Triest and Udine as well as the "Master of Arts" of the University of Bamberg.

Aside from the intensive study of philosophical contents, this program promotes linguistic and cultural knowledge of the countries involved. This way, a philosophical education including a well-developed awareness concerning the philosophical traditions of Italy and of Germany will be transported. This is a central aspect not only because we are convinced they can supplement and enrich each other in content, but also because we are aware that both traditions involved can make an important contribution to the future of Europe. Thus this course of studies – besides providing an appropriate and thorough education in philosophical studies – aims at engaging with the German-Italian discourse and at enhancing the different philosophical modes of expressions and styles that play a significant role in the contemporary and cultural scene.

Further information (German only)

Short Profile of the Course of Studies

Final examination

Master thesis (written during the course of studies)


Master of Arts / Laurea Magistrale



Number of terms prescribed

4 terms

Beginning of studies

Possible both at winter or summer term

Requirements for admission

BA passing mark 2.5 (including at least 40 ETCS in Philosophy)

Stay abroad

Triest / Udine during 3rd and 4th term

Language requirements

German (B2), English (B1)


No tuition fees in Italy, ERASMUS-support


The master course in philosophical studies has been accredited 2013 in Bamberg, and 2016 in Italy. For the students, this means the course of studies with its structures and contents is fulfilling the criteria of quality demanded from the respective Accreditation Councils.