University

Knowledge for All - Open Access Declaration

Enacted by the University Governance of the University of Bamberg on 26 September 2011

What is Open Access?

Open access means that academic publications are made publically available online and may be used, copied, disseminated and cited without fees or other restrictions, as long as all copyright information is correctly indicated.

Official Stance of the University of Bamberg

The University of Bamberg has aligned itself with the principles of Open Access specified in the “Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and Humanities.” In compliance with its mission statement, the provision to society and the broader academic community of open and unrestricted access to all knowledge and data gained and produced at the university is firmly rooted in the university’s conceptual identity.

In addition to this societal and academic responsibility, open access publishing increases the visibility of research findings and highlights the university’s formidable productivity. Therefore, the University of Bamberg endorses publication in open access journals, on the university’s publication server and via the university’s own publishing company, the University of Bamberg Press.

University governance encourages scholars at the University of Bamberg to publish in open access journals and to actively support these same publications as peer reviewers and editors. A central open access fund provides financial aid to help cover the costs of publishing in quality-assured open access journals.

University governance requests that scholars at the university publish their articles and research results on the university’s publication server as original work or pre- or postprints. It also encourages scholars not to grant exclusive usage rights for electronic versions of their work, and in so doing to retain the right of disposition. The University of Bamberg strives to ensure that the publication server provides the most complete access possible to scholarly publications originating in Bamberg.

University governance appeals to all persons affiliated with the university to support the notion of open access and to contribute to the establishment of enduring and reliable structures for the advancement of open access at the University of Bamberg.

Further Information

The University Library and the university’s Research Aid and Transfer Division provide information on open access possibilities and advise members of the university on open access publishing, on funding opportunities and on open access considerations pertaining to research projects.

University Library

Research Aid and Transfer Division

Universität Bamberg - Logo

Open Access-Erklärung

Von der Universitätsleitung der Otto-Friedrich-Universität beschlossen am 26.09.2011

Was bedeutet Open Access?

Open Access bedeutet, dass wissenschaftliche Publikationen kostenfrei und öffentlich im Internet zugänglich sind und ohne Beschränkungen genutzt, kopiert, verbreitet und wiedergegeben werden können, sofern die Urheberschaft korrekt angegeben wird.

Haltung der Universität Bamberg

Die Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg bekennt sich zu den in der "Berliner Erklärung über den offenen Zugang zu wissenschaftlichem Wissen" beschriebenen Prinzipien des Open Access. In Übereinstimmung mit ihrem Leitbild gehört es zu ihrem Selbstverständnis, das an der Universität entstandene Wissen für die Gesellschaft und die Wissenschaftsgemeinschaft umfassend, nachhaltig und ohne Einschränkungen zugänglich zu machen.

Zusätzlich zu dieser gesellschaftlichen und wissenschaftlichen Verantwortung erhöht Open Access-Publizieren die Sichtbarkeit von Forschungsergebnissen und verdeutlicht die beeindruckende Leistungsfähigkeit der Universität. Daher unterstützt die Otto-Friedrich-Universität das Publizieren in Open-Access-Zeitschriften, auf dem Publikationsserver der Universität und im Universitätsverlag University of Bamberg Press.

Die Universitätsleitung ermuntert die Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen der Universität, in Open-Access-Zeitschriften zu publizieren und auch als Gutachter und Gutachterinnen, Herausgeber und Herausgeberinnen Open-Access-Zeitschriften zu fördern. Die Finanzierung von Publikationsgebühren qualitätsgeprüfter Open-Access-Zeitschriften wird aus einem zentralen Open-Access-Fonds unterstützt.

Die Universitätsleitung fordert die Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen der Universität auf, ihre Publikationen und Forschungsergebnisse auf dem Publikationsserver der Universität als Originalarbeit oder als Pre- bzw. Postprint zu veröffentlichen. Sie ermutigt sie, keine ausschließlichen Verwertungsrechte für die elektronischen Versionen einzuräumen und somit das Verfügungsrecht für Ihre Arbeiten zu behalten. Die Otto-Friedrich-Universität strebt an, die an ihr entstandenen Veröffentlichungen möglichst vollständig auf dem Publikationsserver verfügbar zu machen.

Die Universitätsleitung bittet alle Universitätsangehörigen, den Open-Access-Gedanken zu unterstützen und zur Etablierung dauerhafter und verlässlicher Strukturen zur Förderung von Open Access an der Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg beizutragen.

externer Link folgt Link zu Wikipedia - "Berliner Erklärung"

externer Link folgt Link zur Website "Open Access und Forschungsförderung durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft" 

Weitere Informationen

Universitätsbibliothek und Dezernat Forschung und Transfer informieren über die Möglichkeiten von Open Access und beraten alle Universitätsangehörigen beim Open-Access-Publizieren, bei der Finanzierung von Open-Access-Publikationen und bei der Berücksichtigung von Open Access in Forschungsprojekten.

Link zur Universitätbibliothek

Link zum Dezernat Forschungsförderung und Transfer