Information Systems and Applied Computer Sciences

M.Sc. Education in Business and Information Systems

Programme Profile

The master’s degree program in Education in Business and Information Systems (Wirtschaftspädagogik/WI) was initiated in the Winter 2001/02 semester in response to increasing demand. This interdisciplinary curriculum combines topics from economics, teacher training, and computer science in an integrated offering that remains the only one of its kind in Germany. The program prepares students for a variety of careers in economics and administration, extracurricular and corporate educational institutions and as teachers in trade schools. The State of Bavaria recognizes the degree from this program as equivalent to the State examinations for vocational school teachers and thus it qualifies graduates to enter the postgraduate traineeship (Referendariat).

The program objectives are the acquisition of general and subject-specific decision-making skills, as well as communication, cooperation, and dealing with criticism as a basis for teamwork, project management, and leadership functions. Students in this degree program learn the skills needed to recognize and deal with problems and issues that characterize the fields of Information Systems, Economics, and Business Education. Graduates are able to illustrate and analyze these problems accurately, as well as assess their main, subsequent, and ancillary effects so they can solve them independently. This is made possible by the requirement that solutions developed, as well as their corresponding implementation processes, be formed responsibly from a users’ didactic perspective.

This master’s degree program also aims to develop the students’ ability to educate themselves independently in the future, as the dynamic nature of the field makes this an ongoing necessity. Furthermore, students acquire skills necessary to reflect on prevailing procedural methods and contribute to the further academic development of the subjects studied. The program offers students excellent prospects in the labor market.

Studies in Bamberg

In order to answer to increasing demands on the University of Bamberg, the degree programme in Education in Business and Information Systems was initiated in the 2001/02 winter semester. This interdisciplinary programme combines topics from economics, teacher training and computer science in an integrated offering that remains the only one of its kind in Germany. In light of developments in the educational sector, this degree programme offers students excellent prospects in the labour market.

The degree programme in Education in Business and Information Systems is offered by the Faculty for Information Systems and Applied Computer Science, which, at the time of its founding in 2001, was the first faculty in Germany boasting this particular academic profile. As an independent degree programme, Information Systems at the University of Bamberg can look back on a long tradition. As early as 1987, Bamberg’s diploma programme in Information Systems was the third degree programme in this field to be created in Germany. In compliance with the Bologna Process, the Information Systems and Education in Business and Information Systems curricula were expanded to include bachelor’s and master’s degree programmes in the 2004/05 winter semester.

Fakultät Wirtschaftsinformatik und Angewandte Informatik

M.Sc. Wirtschaftspädagogik / WI

Profil des Studiengangs

Das Masterstudium der Wirtschaftspädagogik mit dem Schwerpunkt Wirtschaftsinformatik (Wirtschaftspädagogik/WI) bereitet die Studierenden auf vielfältige berufliche Tätigkeiten in Wirtschaft und Verwaltung, kaufmännischen Schulen sowie außerschulischen und überbetrieblichen Bildungseinrichtungen vor. Der Masterabschluss in Wirtschaftspädagogik/WI wird in Bayern als erstes Staatsexamen für das Lehramt an beruflichen Schulen anerkannt und berechtigt zum Eintritt in den Vorbereitungsdienst (Referendariat).

Studierende sollen durch dieses Studium die Fähigkeit erwerben, wirtschaftsinformatische, wirtschaftswissenschaftliche, wirtschaftspädagogische und insbesondere interdisziplinäre Problemstellungen zu erkennen. Sie sollen in der Lage sein, diese Problemstellungen nicht nur wissenschaftlich zu analysieren und sachgerecht darzustellen, sondern diese auch selbstständig zu lösen, indem sie in angemessener Weise deren Haupt-, Folge- und Nebeneffekte bewerten. Dies geschieht mit der Maßgabe, die entwickelten Problemlösungen und die dazugehörigen Umsetzungsprozesse verantwortungsvoll aus einer didaktischen Perspektive der Nutzer zu gestalten.

Ziele des Studiums sind neben dem Erwerb allgemeiner und fachspezifischer Handlungskompetenzen auch Kommunikations-, Kooperations- und Kritikfähigkeit als Grundlage für Teamarbeit, Projektmanagement und Führungsaufgaben.

Durch das Masterstudium soll außerdem die Fähigkeit zur selbstständigen Weiterbildung erworben werden, weil diese durch die dynamischen Entwicklungen des Faches zu jeder Zeit gefordert ist. Darüber hinaus erwerben die Studierenden die nötigen Kompetenzen, um die vorherrschende Praxis kritisch zu reflektieren und zur wissenschaftlichen Weiterentwicklung der Fächer beizutragen.

Das Studium in Bamberg

Vor dem Hintergrund der skizzierten Bedarfe wurde an der Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg zum Wintersemester 2001/02 der Studiengang Wirtschaftspädagogik/WI installiert. Dieser interdisziplinär angelegte Studiengang vernetzt Inhalte aus Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Lehrerbildung und Informatik in einem in Deutschland bislang einmaligen integrierten Angebot. Angesichts der Entwicklungen im Bildungssektor verspricht der Studiengang hervorragende Aussichten auf dem Arbeitsmarkt.

Der Studiengang Wirtschaftspädagogik/WI wird von der Fakultät Wirtschaftsinformatik und Angewandte Informatik angeboten, die 2001 als deutschlandweit erste Fakultät mit einem derartigen Zuschnitt gegründet wurde. Die Wirtschaftsinformatik als eigenständiger Studiengang kann auf eine lange Tradition in Bamberg zurückblicken. Bereits 1987 wurde der Diplomstudiengang Wirtschaftsinformatik als dritter Wirtschaftsinformatik-Studiengang in Deutschland gegründet. Im Zuge des Bologna-Prozesses wurde das Studienangebot in Wirtschaftsinformatik und Wirtschaftspädagogik/WI zum Wintersemester 2004/2005 um Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge erweitert.