Stephan Simon, M.A.

Contact

Phone: +49 (0)951/ 863-2746

E-Mail: stephan.simon(at)uni-bamberg.de

Room: FMA/01.14

Curriculum vitae (english): https://www.wzb.eu/en/persons/stephan-simon

Stephan Simon is a researcher and doctoral candidate at the Chair of Political Sociology. He holds an MA in Social Sciences from the Humboldt University of Berlin. He wrote his MA thesis about the role of Pentecostal religious practices for the daily lives of the first and second generation of sub-Saharan immigrants in Berlin.
In his dissertation he conducts research on the effects of immigration policies (open versus closed borders) on social cohesion in immigration societies and on the effects of migration-related policies (immigration and integration policies) on the integration outcomes of immigrants. Further fields of interest include quantitative and qualitative methods of social research, ethnic discrimination and global religious movements.
At the Chair of Political Sociology Stephan Simon teaches about immigrant incorporation and ethnic discrimination. He is currently a guest researcher at the research unit Migration, Integration, Transnationalization at the WZB Berlin Social Science Center.

Fakultät Sozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Lehrstuhl für Politische Soziologie

Stephan Simon, M.A.

Kontakt

Tel.: 0951/863-2746
Fax: 0951/863-5706

E-Mail: stephan.simon(at)uni-bamberg.de

Büro: FMA/01.14

Curriculum Vitae (Deutsch): http://www.wzb.eu/de/personen/stephan-simon

Stephan Simon ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Doktorand am Lehrstuhl für politische Soziologie. Den Master in Sozialwissenschaften hat er an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin absolviert. Seine Masterarbeit hat er über die Rolle von christlich-pfingstlicher Religiosität für die erste und zweite Generation von Immigranten aus Subsahara-Afrika in Berlin geschrieben.

In seiner Dissertation untersucht er den Einfluss von Einwanderungspolitik (offene versus geschlossene Grenzen)  auf den sozialen Zusammenhalt in Einwanderungsgesellschaften sowie den Einfluss von migrationsbezogenen Politiken (Einwanderungs- und Integrationspolitik) auf die Integration von Einwanderern. Seine methodischen Schwerpunkte liegen auf der quantitativen und der qualitativen Sozialforschung. Zu seinen weiteren Forschungsinteressen gehören ethnische Diskriminierung und globale religiöse Bewegungen.

Am Lehrstuhl in Bamberg lehrt Stephan Simon zur Integration von Zuwanderern und zur ethnischen Diskriminierung. Er ist momentan Gast in der Abteilung Migration, Integration, Transnationalisierung am Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung.