PUSh - Prize of the University Women's Representative for Female Students with Outstanding Achievements

More than 60 percent of the students of the University of Bamberg are women. On the other qualification levels - from doctorate through habilitation to professorship - the proportion of women is steadily decreasing. With 'PUSh', the award of the women´s representative of the university for female students with outstanding achievements, the university women's representatives want to point out the high scientific potential of women. The prize, which was awarded for the first time in 2007, is intended to promote female junior researchers in a targeted manner and encourage them to continue their scientific careers.

Application 2020

The phase for the application for PUSh 2020 is beginning with the start of lectures for the summer semester 2020 and ends on 15th June 2020. Until 15th June 2020, 23.59 clock your pdf with the application documents must be received at the women´s office.

Students of all disciplines of the University of Bamberg, who have written a very good thesis (diploma or master) can apply.

Applications that are not older than one year are allowed to apply. Deadline for theexaminition office is April, 1st of the previous year. In addition, the papers must have been rated "very good".

The application formular may be downloaded and filled out here(1.1 MB).

Please directly fill out the application in the pdf-form. Save as a new name to  preserve the data. If the place is not sufficient to indicate internships or professional activities, please refer to the CV and limit in the form of the most important activities.

Your application also includes:

  • A tabular curriculum vitae
  • A letter of motivation for the application for the award with details of subject, faculty, date of submission of the thesis and final grade of the thesis
  • An abstract of your work (maximum of two DIN A4 pages)
  • Your thesis as pdf

Please send the completed application form in addtition to the other documents to frauenbeauftragte@uni-bamberg.de.

Also, we need the first report on the final thesis. Please request it from your reviewer. This person should then send their report directly to frauenbeauftragte@uni-bamberg.de.




3 prizes, each endowed with 500 €, for theses from all faculties of the University of Bamberg (master's, diploma, Zulassungsarbeit).



Prof. Dr. Iris Hermann

M.A. Anna Berthold

Prof. Dr. Ute Franz

Prof. Dr. Margarete Wagner-Braun

M. Sc. Karolina Bähr

Prof. Dr. Daniela Nicklas

Dipl.-Soz. Johanna Bamberg-Reinwand

Andrea Diepold


All decisions made by the jury are final, legal recourse is excluded. The non-award of submitted works will not be justified. If the supervisor of a work under discussion (first assessor) is a member of the jury, she will abstain from voting on it.

The award ceremony takes place as part of the annual ceremony. The reports can be found on our blog.

A list of the theses awarded so far can be found here.