Dean, Vice-Deans and Deans of Study

The Dean

Prof. Dr. Markus Behmer

Professorship for Communication Studies with a focus on Empirical Communicator Research

Term: Oct. 1, 2015 - Sep. 30, 2019

The dean represents the faculty in dealings with the university’s other academic and administrative bodies and in matters of external relevance. Most importantly, he is the official contact person for the university’s Board of Management and is a member of the Extended Board of Management. The dean presides over faculty committee meetings and is responsible for implementing the resolutions issued therein. Furthermore, he manages the faculty’s finances and other resources.

The Vice-Deans

The two vice-deans assist and support the dean in his duties and also act as representatives in his stead. They are particularly responsible for research and are therefore ex officio members of the standing committee for research and young academics (FNK).

Prof. Dr. Lale Behzadi

Professorship for Arabic Language and Literature

Term: Oct. 1, 2015 - Sep. 30, 2019


Prof. Dr. Christine Gerhardt

Professorship for American Literature and Culture

Term: Oct. 1, 2015 - Sep. 30, 2019




Prof. Dr. Marc Redepenning

Chair of Geography I (Social and Population Geography)

Term: Oct. 14, 2015 - March 31, 2022



Prof. Dr. Thomas Weißer (Laubach)

Chair of Theological Ethics

Term: Oct. 1, 2015 - March 31, 2022