In 2013, the NEO-ER (Network on Extracurricular and Out-of-School Time Education Research), which is today the WERA-IRN EXTENDED EDUCATION, launched an internationally refereed journal: The International Journal for Research on Extended Education (IJREE). It is internationally recognized as the unique academic journal in the field of extended education.

Since 2013, it has been published twice a year until 2017, meaning that there are currently 8 issues published. From 2013 to 2016 the IJREE was financially supported by the German Research Council. The IJREE involves three main sections – the General Contributions for scholarly research papers, the Developments in the Field Extended Education for reports on professional works, practices, explanatory and introductory works in the field of extended education, and Book Reviews.

Read the IJREE issues, or follow it on Twitter and on facebook.

Latest Issues

In 2018, two special issues of the IJREE were published by Prof. Dr. Marianne Schüpbach as a guest editor. Both concern the 2017 WERA-IRN Extended Education Conference Extended Education from an International Comparative Point of View, that took place in at the University of Bamberg, Germany. Read more.

Editorial Board 

Editor in Chief

Prof. Dr. Sang Hoon Bae (SungKyunKwan University)



Prof. Dr. Alan Dyson (University of Manchester) 

Prof. Dr. Natalie Fischer (University of Kassel)

Prof. Dr. Björn Haglund (University of Gothenburg)

Dr. Denise Huang (HLH Foundation)

Prof. Dr. Fuyuko Kanefuji (Bunkyo University)

Prof. Dr. Anna Klerfelt (Jönköping University)

Prof. Dr. Eckhard Klieme (German Institute for Educational Research)

Prof. Dr. Sabine Maschke (University of Marburg)

Prof. Dr. Gil Noam (Harvard University)

Prof. Dr. Lea Pulkkinen (University of Jyväskylä)

Prof. Dr. Marianne Schuepbach (Freie Universität Berlin)

Prof. Dr. Atara Sivan (Hong Kong Baptist University)

Prof. Dr. Ludwig Stecher (Justus Liebig University Giessen)


Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Mark Bray (University of Hong Kong)

Prof. Dr. Manuela Du Bois-Reymond (University of Leiden)

Prof. Dr. Heinz-Günther Holtappels (University of Dortmund)

Prof. Dr. Kumiko Iwasaki (The Open University)

Prof. Dr. Richard Lerner (Tufts University)

Prof. Dr. Hans Günter Rossbach (University of Bamberg)

Prof. Dr. Debora Vandell (University of California)