Decisions over the Graduate School's overall direction are the responsibility of the General Meeting. It convenes at least once a year and comprises all members of the School. Between General Meetings, the Executive Committee is the School's highest decision-making body. Day-to-day management is the duty of the Director and Deputy Director, the Pillar Coordinators and the General Management.

The Bamberg Graduate School of Social Sciences is firmly embedded in the University's general quality management procedures. Regular student evaluations and recommendations by our External Scientific Advisory Council are crucial to the continuous development of the School and its programme.

All rules concerning organisation and management are laid down in the Graduate School's Constitution and Rules of Procedure ("Ordnung"):

+ German version
+ English version (courtesy translation)(139.3 KB)

Please note that only the German version is legally binding.

___ Membership

The Graduate School's membership consists of all eligible professors, post-doctoral fellows and doctoral students. Doctoral students can either be regular or associate members.

For more information on these membership models, please see the doctoral programme and applications sections. Post-doctoral fellows have the status of associated members. The rights and duties of all members are defined in the Graduate School's Ordinances (available in German here).

___ Executive Committee

The Graduate School's executive committee consists of the director and the deputy director, at least three further professors, including all pillar coordinators, and two doctoral student representatives. They hold at least once per semester a meeting.

The executive committee decides on the academic programme and the qualification measures of BAGSS, votes on the acceptance and exclusion of members, coordinates the work with partners, reports to the German Science Foundation and decides about the use of funds. Further tasks are the quality management and marketing decisions.

The current members of the executive committee are:

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Sieberer (director and coordinator of Pillar 4)
Prof. Dr. Henriette Engelhardt-Wölfler (deputy director)
Prof. Dr. Claus Carstensen (depury director and coordinator of Pillar 1)
Prof. Dr. Cornelia Kristen (coordinator of Pillar 2)
Prof. Dr. Guido Heineck (coordinator of Pillar 3)
Prof. Dr. Maike Andresen
Prof. Dr. Thomas Gehring
Prof. Dr. Olaf Struck
Prof. Dr. Steffen Schindler
Prof. Dr. Corinna Kleinert
Christopher Kearney, M.A. (student representative)
Teresa Haller, M.A. (student representative)

___ Doctoral Student Council

The doctoral student council ensures that the interests of all doctoral students are considered. They have considerable influence on the Graduate School as they can submit anytime suggestions for activities such as new courses, seminars, workshops, guest lectures and general improvements and the overall development of the Graduate School. Two members of the doctoral student council are members of the executive committee.

The doctoral student council is elected by all students once per year in May.

Current members of the student council:

Christopher Kearney, M.A.
Emmanuel Niyibizi, M.A.
Chen-Hao Hsu, M.A.
Teresa Haller, M.A.


___ Scientific Advisory Council

The external Scientific Advisory Council of the Bamberg Graduate School of Social Sciences consists of at least four internationally renowned scientists who do not belong to Bamberg University. Their task is to regularly evaluate the Graduate School, give advice regarding the scientific, structural and personnel development of the Graduate School and to formulate recommendations and reports for the further development of the School. The Scientific Advisory Council meets at least once in two years.

The following scientists of outstanding international reputation were appointed to
form the School’s Scientific Advisory Council from 01 April 2017 to 31 March 2021:

Professor Dr. Rolf Becker, University of Berne
Professor Dr. Claudia Diehl, University of Constance
Professor Dr. Hartmut Ditton, University of Munich
Professor Kristian Skrede Gleditsch PhD, University of Essex
Professor Dr. Paul Leseman, University of Utrecht
Professor Dr. h.c. Donald B. Rubin PhD, Harvard University
Professor Regina T. Riphahn, Ph.D, University of Erlangen
Professor Kaare W. Strøm PhD, University of California

They provide input to the School’s quality management and review progress.







© 2017 - 2020 Bamberg Graduate School of Social Sciences