Information Systems and Applied Computer Sciences

B.Sc. Information Systems

Structure and Curriculum

The bachelor’s degree programme in Information Systems is divided into two main segments: foundational and specialization studies.

In specialization studies, students focus on acquiring and developing knowledge and skills pertaining to one of four possible module groups.

A1: Foundations of Information Systems

In the courses pertaining to the A1 module group, students receive knowledge and skills training in the core areas of Information Systems. Students become acquainted with business-related information and application systems, and deal with information and knowledge management. Further methodological and domain-specific content pertaining to Information Systems’ core areas is explored within the scope of required elective courses.

[42 ECTS-Points]

A2: Foundations of Computer Science

In the A2 module group, foundational knowledge pertaining to theoretical and practical computer science is presented in the form of compulsory and in-depth elective courses.

[36-42 ECTS-Points]

A3: Foundations of Business Administration and Management | Economics | Law

In the form of both compulsory and elective courses, the A3 module group addresses the foundations of business administration and management, and complements these with a selection of topics from the subject areas of economics and law.

[42 ECTS-Points]

A4: Foundations of Quantitative Methods

The A4 module group serves to introduce essential quantitative methods in Information Systems studies. The module group includes courses in mathematics, statistics, and operations research.

[24-30 ECTS-Points]

A5: Contextual Studies

A main focus area of contextual studies in the A5 module group is the acquisition of foreign language skills. Additional modules in academic research methods, philosophy/ethics and general key skills are also offered.

[15 ECTS-Points]

A6: Seminar

The A6 module group comprises one seminar in which specific topics pertaining to the subject areas of the module groups A1-A4 are presented and discussed.

[3 ECTS-Points]

A7: Bachelor’s Thesis

The A7 module group serves as the framework for independent work on a topic from either the Information Systems subject group, or on information-systems-relevant topics from the Computer Science, Applied Computer Science, Business Administration and Management groups, or from another subject in accordance with appendix 2 of the study and subject examination regulations.

[12 ECTS-Points]

B: Specialization Studies

Students select one of four focus area alternatives:

B1: F&E-Project Experience

The B1 area of specialization is focused on students’ expansion of specific knowledge in individually selected topic areas by way of developing a project and attending preparatory modules from the Information Systems bachelor’s or master’s programme catalogue. Students hereby gain invaluable experience by collaborating on research and development projects.

B2: Advanced Studies

The B2 alternative is geared towards the expansion of specialized knowledge of a particular subject field via the completion of additional modules selected from among those of the bachelor’s or master’s programmes in Information Systems.

B3: Structured Foreign Studies

Within the scope of structured foreign studies (B3), degree credit is earned at a foreign university.

B4: Specialization Studies in Business and Human Resource Education

The B4 specialization alternative affords students the opportunity to expand their proficiency in knowledge transfer or, for example, to contribute to the development of e-learning modules.

[30 ECTS-Points]