Chairholder

Prof. Dr. Andreas Jungherr

Mail: andreas.jungherr@uni-bamberg.de
Phone: 0951/863-2737
Office: F21/03.71
Speaking hour: by appointment

Andreas Jungherr holds the Chair of Political Science, in particular the Chair for the Governance of Complex and Innovative Technological Systems.

He investigates the effects of digitalization on politics and society. His research focuses on societal, institutional and organizational attempts to control digital change and the study of the use of digital media and technologies by the population, political elites, media and organizations.

In addition, he researches reactions of the population to technological and societal change. Here, he investigates, among other things, attitude structures toward artificial intelligence and the energy transition and the experimental measurement of the effect of communication, for example, in the form of targeted persuasion attempts in information letters or media coverage.

In addition, Jungherr is concerned with the challenges and opportunities of using new data sources (Big Data), artificial intelligence and other computer-based methods in social science (Computational Social Science).

Currently, Jungherr is leading the interdisciplinary research projects "Communicative Power in Hybrid Media Systems" and "Discursive power in the coverage of Covid-19: An international comparison of hidden structures in contemporary media systems identified with deep learning techniques in text, images, and video." Both projects, funded by the Volkswagen Foundation, investigate the connections and mutual influence of political coverage in traditional and online media and public exchange on digital platforms in Germany, the United Kingdom, the United States, and South Korea using methods from computational social science. The projects are interdisciplinary in nature, linking international researchers in political science, computer science, and information systems.

Prior to his current position, Jungherr was a professor of communication science with a focus on digitization and the public sphere at Friedrich Schiller University in Jena (2020-1), an assistant professor of social science data collection and analysis at the University of Konstanz (2016-20), a visiting professor at the University of Zurich (2018-9), a postdoctoral fellow at the Department of Political Psychology at the University of Mannheim (2014-6), and a research assistant at the Department of Political Sociology at Otto Friedrich University in Bamberg (2009-14), where he also defended his PhD in 2014.


Personal website:

andreasjungherr.net

Twitter:

@ajungherr

https://twitter.com/ajungherr?lang=de

Google Scholar Profile:

https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=wUDQ91YAAAAJ&hl=de

Lehrstuhlinhaber

Prof. Dr. Andreas Jungherr

Mail: andreas.jungherr@uni-bamberg.de
Tel.: 0951/863-2737
Raum: F21/03.71
Sprechstunde: nach Vereinbarung

Andreas Jungherr ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Politikwissenschaft, insbesondere Steuerung innovativer und komplexer technischer Systeme.

Er untersucht die Auswirkungen der Digitalisierung auf Politik und Gesellschaft. Dabei konzentriert sich seine Forschung auf gesellschaftliche, institutionelle und organisationale Steuerungsversuche digitalen Wandels und die Untersuchung der Nutzung digitaler Medien und Technologien durch Bevölkerung, politische Eliten, Medien und Organisationen.

Hierbei interessieren ihn unter anderem auch Reaktionen der Bevölkerung auf technologischen und gesellschaftlichen Wandel. Hier untersucht er unter anderem Einstellungsstrukturen zu Künstlicher Intelligenz und Globalisierung und die experimentelle Wirkungsmessung von Kommunikation, zum Beispiel in Form von gezielten Überzeugungsversuchen in Informationsbriefen oder Medienberichterstattung.

Darüber hinaus befasst sich Jungherr mit Herausforderungen und Chancen der Nutzung neuer Datenquellen (Big Data), künstlicher Intelligenz und anderen computerbasierten Methoden in der Sozialwissenschaft (Computational Social Science).

Derzeit leitet Jungherr die interdisziplinären Forschungsprojekte „Communicative Power in Hybrid Media Systems“ und „Discursive power in the coverage of Covid-19: An international comparison of hidden structures in contemporary media systems identified with deep learning techniques in text, images, and video“. Beide von der VolkswagenStiftung finanzierten Projekte untersuchen die Verbindungen und gegenseitigen Einflüsse politischer Berichterstattung in Legacy- und Online-Medien und dem öffentlichen Austausch auf Online-Plattformen in Deutschland, Großbritannien, den USA und Südkorea mit Methoden der Computational Social Science. Die Projekte sind interdisziplinär angelegt und verbinden internationale Forscherinnen und Forscher der Politikwissenschaft, Informatik und Wirtschaftsinformatik.

Vor seiner jetzigen Stellung war Jungherr Professor für Kommunikationswissenschaft mit Schwerpunkt Digitalisierung und Öffentlichkeit an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena (2020-1), Juniorprofessor für Social Science Data Collection and Analysis an der Universität Konstanz (2016-20), Gastprofessor an der Universität Zürich (2018-9), Post-Doc am Lehrstuhl für Politische Psychologie an der Universität Mannheim (2014-6) und wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Politische Soziologie der Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg (2009-14), wo er 2014 auch seine Promotion verteidigte.

Persönliche Webseite:

https://andreasjungherr.net

Twitter:

@ajungherr

https://twitter.com/ajungherr?lang=de

Google Scholar Profil:

https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=wUDQ91YAAAAJ&hl=de