Associate Researcher

Julia Bettecken, M.A.
Mail: julia.bettecken@uni-bamberg.de
Phone: 0951/863-2790
Office: F-21/03.69
Speaking hour: by appointment

Julia Bettecken is a postdoctoral researcher at the Chair of Political Science, in particular the Chair for the Governance of Complex and Innovative Technological Systems.

Her previous research focuses on the interplay between institutions and decision-making behavior, with implications for social welfare and public opinion. In particular, she relies on experimental methods to study the effect of different voting institutions (direct democracy, representative democracy) on the decisions made by voters and their elected (or appointed) representatives. She also investigates voters’ legitimacy perceptions and attitudes towards different voting institutions.

Her current research interest focuses on new forms of democratic decision-making, such as participatory innovations and the use of digital democracy. Moreover, she is interested in citizens’ attitudes towards technological innovations and algorithm-based decision-making.

Before joining the Chair of Prof. Dr. Andreas Jungherr, Julia Bettecken worked as Managing Editor of European Union Politics. She pursued her doctorate in political science at the Graduate School of the Social and Behavioural Sciences (GSBS) at the University of Konstanz.

Akademische Rätin

Julia Bettecken, M.A.
Mail: julia.bettecken@uni-bamberg.de
Tel.: 0951/863-2790
Raum: F-21/03.69
Sprechstunde: nach Vereinbarung

Julia Bettecken ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Lehrstuhl für Politikwissenschaft, insbesondere Steuerung innovativer und komplexer technischer Systeme.

Ihre bisherige Forschung konzentriert sich auf das Wechselspiel zwischen Institutionen und Entscheidungsverhalten sowie die damit verbundenen Auswirkungen für das gesellschaftliche Gemeinwohl und die öffentliche Meinung. Dabei greift sie vor allem auf experimentelle Methoden zurück, um zu untersuchen, welchen Einfluss verschiedene Wahlinstitutionen (direkte Demokratie, repräsentative Demokratie) auf die Entscheidungen von Wählern und ihren gewählten (oder ernannten) Vertretern haben.

Ihr aktueller Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf neuen Formen demokratischer Entscheidungsprozesse, wie zum Beispiel innovative und digitale Beteiligungsverfahren. Darüber hinaus interessiert sie sich für die Einstellungen gegenüber technologischen Innovationen und algorithmusbasierten Entscheidungsprozessen.

Bevor sie an den Lehrstuhl von Prof. Dr- Andraes Jungherr wechselte, arbeitete Julia Bettecken als Managing Editor für European Union Politics. Sie promovierte an der Graduiertenschule für Sozial- und Verhaltenswissenschaften (GSBS) der Universität Konstanz.