Associate Researcher

Dr. Sofia Pagliarin
Mail: sofia.pagliarin@uni-bamberg.de
Phone: 0951/863-2790
Office: F-21/03.69
Speaking hour: Wednesday, 14-16 h and by appointment

Dr. Sofia Pagliarin is employed since 2018 as Associate Researcher at the Chair for the Governance of Complex and Innovative Technological Systems. In 2020, she has been Professor ad interim at the same Chair for two semesters. Dr. Pagliarin obtained her doctoral degree in urban studies and spatial development and planning in 2014 (co-tutorship between Bicocca University of Milan, Italy and KU Leuven, Belgium) with a thesis on suburbanisation and governance dynamics in the metropolitan areas of Barcelona and Milan. Between 2016 and 2017, she worked as a post-doc researcher at the Swiss Federal Research Institute WSL on an [LINK: https://www.wsl.ch/de/projekte/concur-from-plan-to-land-change-1.html] analysing the effect of governance and spatial planning factors on land-use change in a set of European cities.

Her current research deals with the effect of institutional and spatial planning factors on land management and allocation in metropolitan areas, with a partifular focus on sustainable land use. She is interested in the examination of processes by means of development stages and trajectories, like phases of change in urban development. She is also interested in smart and sustainable cities and urban regions. Her methodological approach is mainly qualitative, comparative and complexity-informed, including set-theoretic comparative methods for the social sciences (qualitative comparative analysis, QCA).

Before working in academia, Dr. Pagliarin worked as an employee in logistics in different companies in Italy and Spain. She also lived in Sweden and Turkey. Between 2012 and 2016, she has also worked as a project coordinator in participatory map making processes for the cities of Padua and Rovigo (Italy) in cooperation with the European network USE-IT [LINK: https://www.use-it.travel/home] and has been a contributor to the Slow Science movement [LINK: https://slowscience.be/contributors/sofia-pagliarin/].

Akademische Rätin

 

Dr. Sofia Pagliarin
Mail: sofia.pagliarin@uni-bamberg.de
Tel.: 0951/863-2790
Raum: F-21/03.69
Sprechstunde: Mittwoch 14-16 h oder nach Vereinbarung

Dr. Sofia Pagliarin ist seit 2018 Akademische Rätin am Lehrstuhl für die Governance komplexer und innovativer technologischer Systeme tätig. Im Jahr 2020 war sie für zwei Semester als Stellvertreterin am selben Lehrstuhl beschäftigt. Dr. Pagliarin promovierte in 2014 in Stadtsoziologie und Raumentwicklung und -planung (in Kooperation zwischen der Bicocca Universität Mailand, Italien und der KU Leuven, Belgien) mit einer Arbeit über Zersiedlung (urban sprawl) und Steuerung-Dynamik in den Metropolen Barcelona und Mailand. Zwischen 2016 und 2017 arbeitete sie als Post-Doc-Forscherin an der Eidgenössischen Forschungsanstalt WSL an einem interdisziplinären Forschungsprojekt [LINK: https://www.wsl.ch/de/projekte/concur-from-plan-to-land-change-1.html], das die Auswirkungen von Steuerung- und Raumplanungsfaktoren auf den Landnutzungswandel in einer Reihe von europäischen Städten analysierte.

Ihre aktuelle Forschung befasst sich mit dem Einfluss von institutionellen und raumplanerischen Faktoren auf die Landbewirtschaftung in Ballungsräumen, mit einem besonderen Fokus auf nachhaltige Landnutzung. Sie interessiert sich für die Untersuchung von Prozessen anhand von Entwicklungsstufen und Trajektorien, wie Phasen des Wandels in der Stadtentwicklung. Außerdem interessiert sie sich für 'smart' und nachhaltige Städte und Stadtregionen. Ihr methodischer Ansatz ist hauptsächlich qualitativ, vergleichend und komplexitätsorientiert, einschließlich mengentheoretischer Vergleichsmethoden für die Sozialwissenschaften (Qualitative Comparative Analysis, QCA).

Vor ihrer Tätigkeit in der Wissenschaft arbeitete Dr. Pagliarin als Angestellte in der Logistik in verschiedenen Unternehmen in Italien und Spanien. Sie lebte auch in Schweden und der Türkei. Zwischen 2012 und 2016 hat sie außerdem als Projektkoordinatorin in partizipativen Kartenerstellungsprozessen für die Städte Padua und Rovigo (Italien) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem europäischen Netzwerk USE-IT [LINK: https://www.use-it.travel/home] gearbeitet und sich in der Slow Science Bewegung [LINK: https://slowscience.be/contributors/sofia-pagliarin/] engagiert.