Academic Institutions




Decisions over BAGSS' overall direction are the responsibility of the General Meeting. It convenes at least once a year and comprises all members of the School. Between General Meetings, the Executive Committee is the School's highest decision-making body. Day-to-day management is the duty of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker, the Pillar Coordinators and the Managing Director.

BAGSS is firmly embedded in the University's general quality management procedures. Regular student evaluations and recommendations by our External Scientific Advisory Committee are crucial to the continuous development of the School and its programme.

The following scientists of outstanding international reputation were appointed to
form the School’s Scientific Advisory Board on 30 September 2015:

Professor Dr. Rolf Becker, University of Bern
Professor Dr. Claudia Diehl, University of Constance
Profesor Dr. Hartmut Ditton, LMU Munich
Professor Kristian Skrede Gleditsch PhD, University of Essex
Professor Dr. Paul Leseman, University of Utrecht
Profesor Dr. h.c. Donald B. Rubin PhD, Harvard University
Professor Dr. Katharina Spieß, German Institute of Economic Research (DIW) Berlin
Professor Kaare W. Strøm PhD, University of California San Diego

They provide input to the School’s quality management and review progress.

All rules concerning organisation and management are laid down in the BAGSS Ordinances (available in German here) and in English here(136.6 KB) as a courtesy translation. Please note that only the German version is legally binding.